XXL: Xiu Xiu & Larsen announce new record ‘Puff O’Gigio’ for release on Dec 7th via Bad Paintings

October 9, 2018


– Xiu Xiu & Larsen
– Announce new album ‘Puff O’Gigio’
– Out December 7th on Bad Paintings
– Hear “Queen of Koalas” now


XXL is the unholy union of Xiu Xiu and Italian experimental band Larsen. Today they announce their fourth album ‘Puff O’Gigio’ for release on December 7th via Bad Paintings. With the announcement, they share the bruising six-minute track “Queen of Koalas.”

‘Puff O’Gigio’ is a mythological, genetically modified character – a cross between the notorious Belgian 2-apple sized blue creatures and the equally popular Italian talking and dancing mice. The album inhabits the same colourful, intersectional world as the character, telling stories of wild animals, dub echoes, feminist art(ists), alternative ecosystems and assorted fetishes.

The fantasy themes are matched with equally fanciful music. Written and recorded in a single week in Italy, the album sounds like listening in to someone else’s dream. Powered by a constant sense of yearning and a sense of needing to break free from some unseen chains, this album swings from unabashed pop to clanging experimentalism, to moments of exorcism.

The album will be released on December 7th on heavyweight vinyl, CD and digital, and will be accompanied by a European tour.

‘Puff O’Gigio’ was written and performed by Fabrizio Modonese Palumbo, Jamie Stewart, Marco Schiavo, Paolo Dellapiana, Roberto Maria Clemente, enriched by sonic contributions by Angela Seo, recorded and mixed by Paul Beauchamp at O.F.F. Studio Torino (Italy) and mastered by James Plotkin.

‘Puff O’Gigio’ track list:
1. Intro
2. Ghost Maid
3. Interlude
4. Carissimo
5. To Carol Rama
6. Polar Bear Boogie Part 1
7. Polar Bear Boogie Part 2
8. Welcome To My Planet
9. Lemoning
10. Queen of Koalas
11. Outro

XXL live dates:
19 November – Hamburg @ Kampnegel
20 November – Copenhagen @ VEGA
22 November – Prague @ Underdogs
25 November – Turin @ Magazzino sul Po

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.