FLEET FOXES share ‘Icicle Tusk’ from First Collection 2006-2009 (Nov 9)

October 26, 2018




Ahead of Fleet Foxes’ forthcoming special limited-edition First Collection 2006 – 2009 release on November 9, the band shares its song ‘Icicle Tusk’, which was originally released on the self-released The Fleet Foxes EP in April 2006 in an extremely limited quantity of fewer than 200 copies.

The EP was the band’s initial collaboration with longtime Seattle–based producing partner Phil Ek. It was a grassroots endeavour for frontman Robin Pecknold and his family, who helped burn and hand-screen the copies on CD.  They then delivered the EPs around town to influential record stores and venue bookers, as well as acclaimed independent radio station KEXP, where the morning show host John Richards told Billboard, “Anything this catchy, well-written and -played, deserves to be put on the radio immediately.”  The Seattle Times reviewed an early show, noting, “Pecknold’s alluring, unpretentious singing and a sound — anchored by guitarist Skye Skjelset — that echoes ’60s psychedelic pop alternately charmed and dazzled a robust crowd.”  The First Collection 2006 – 2009 special edition is the first time this music has been available on 10” vinyl.

Listen to ‘Icicle Tusk’ at AppleSpotify, and YouTube.

Watch the trailer for the special edition featuring archival footage HERE.

First Collection 2006 – 2009 is out in the US via Sub Pop Records and on Nonesuch in the rest of the world.

First Collection 2006 – 2009 features content spanning the early days of Fleet Foxes’ career, including the self-titled full-length debut album on 12” vinyl, as well as the Sun Giant EP on 10” vinyl and the first vinyl releases of both the very limited-edition, previously only self-released The Fleet Foxes EP on 10” and B-sides & Rarities on 10”. See full tracklisting below.  In addition to its musical offerings, the release features a thirty-two-page booklet including show flyers, lyrics, and artwork from the period. The special edition will also be released on CD and on all digital platforms.  Pre-order the collection HERE.

Fleet Foxes’ debut album made a tremendous impact on the international musical scene, topping numerous “best of” lists, including Rolling Stone’s 100 Best Albums of the 2000’s and Pitchfork’s 50 Best Albums of 2008, and earned the band Uncut’s inaugural Music Award Prize. Fleet Foxes is certified Gold in North America and Platinum in both the UK and Australia.

Fleet Foxes’ most recent release was the critically acclaimed full-length Crack-Up, released June 2017 on Nonesuch following a six-year hiatus. Additionally, the band sold out notable venues including Red Rocks Amphitheatre and the Hollywood Bowl, performed on the Late Show with Stephen Colbert as well asCBS This Morning, and earned year-end recognition from EsquireConsequence of SoundPasteUproxxVulture, and more.


Fleet Foxes 12”

Side A

1. Sun It Rises

2. White Winter Hymnal

3. Ragged Wood

4. Tiger Mountain Peasant Song

5. Quiet Houses

6. He Doesn’t Know Why

Side B

1. Heard Them Stirring

2. Your Protector

3. Meadlowlarks

4. Blue Ridge Mountains

5. Oliver James

Sun Giant 10”

Side A

1.  Sun Giant

2.  Drops in the River

3.  English House

Side B

1.  Mykonos

2.  Innocent Son


The Fleet Foxes EP 10”

Side A

1.  She Got Dressed

2.  In the Hot Hot Rays

3.  Anyone Who’s Anyone

Side B

1.  Textbook Love

2.  So Long to the Headstrong

3.  Icicle Tusk

B-Sides & Rarities 10”

Side A

1. False Knight On The Road

2. Silver Dagger

3. White Lace Regretfully

4. Isles

Side B

1. Ragged Wood (transition basement sketch)

2. He Doesn’t Know Why (basement demo)

3. English House (basement demo)

4. Hot Air (basement sketch)



You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.