The Kinks’ Dave Davies shares new single ‘Same Old Blues’ taken from new album of unreleased solo material

September 22, 2018


Album pre-order:
Founding Kinks guitarist Dave Davies is pleased to announce the release of a new 13-track collection of previously unreleased recordings. Released 12th October via Red River Entertainment/BFD and distributed globally by Orchard, ‘Decade’ consists of songs Davies originally wrote and recorded during the seventies. ‘Same Old Blues’ is the brand new single taken from the upcoming album.

In what may be considered the sequel to 2011’s ‘Hidden Treasures’ – a collection of songs recorded with the rest of The Kinks as his backing band and brother Ray on production duty, ‘Decade’ includes songs written by Davies over the course of a 10-year period prior to the release of his first solo album, 1980’s ‘AFL1-3603’.
Although for many, the 70s are not generally considered a particularly productive period for Dave in terms of songwriting, the opposite was true. During the period of 1973 to 1975, The Kinks moved into their own recording studio, Konk, which Dave took a major role in setting up and developing. “I’m always really into the sound, and the mixes, and gadgets, and the whole schmiel…and we got a studio up and running, because obviously it was an ideal situation for The Kinks to have our own studio, and record when we liked. And also, I was able to go in, and make what I thought were demos – these recordings,” says Davies.
Although not necessarily written with The Kinks in mind, ‘Decade’ includes “songs from, like, ’72, ’75, right through that decade,” as well as one or two tracks recorded but not used for ‘AFL1-3603’. ‘Midnight Sun’ was inspired by Dave’s friendship with a school friend who later fell deep into the hole of drugs, and whose early death affected Dave profoundly, personally and creatively. There are also two instrumental tracks including ‘The Journey’ intended as an overture for a project that remains elusive.
The astrologically-influenced ‘Mr. Moon’ is one of the few tunes here that was pilfered for later release, as its hook ended up being used on a song on Dave’s ‘Bug’ album some years later. Though Dave admits that ‘Mystic Woman’ needed “a bit of vocal added” to complete it for this release, most of the basic elements of Decade`s tracks were in place, but still needed much work. They benefited greatly from the creative and innovative skills of producer son Simon Davies. “It sounds so good…You know, it’s got the ambience, the feel [and] the sonic correctness, almost, of that period,” says Dave.
The epic ‘This Precious Time (Long Lonely Road)’ is a track that may be familiar to some, as a rough demo appeared on the ‘Fragile’ collection. An appropriate album closer, it took several years for Dave to develop – its genesis was sessions at Apple Studios in 1975 just before its closure. “It was a song that was special to me, and I kept coming back to it. It’s great to finally be able to hear it as I’d originally envisaged. I’m very proud of it, as I am of all the songs on this album”.
The original recordings for ‘Decade’ were unearthed by Davies’ sons Simon and Martin from “under beds, in attics, in storage”, and properly mixed and mastered in a way that lets these songs shimmer and shine even brighter than they did at inception. Some of the musicians who contributed to tracks include longtime Kinks drummer Mick Avory, who appears on ‘If You Are Leaving’ and Dave’s nephew, Phil Palmer, a guitarist who’s worked with Dire Straits, Eric Clapton, Roger Daltrey and many others.
A long-time inductee of the Rock ‘n’ Roll Hall of Fame, Dave Davies helped shape the landscape of rock and pop music across generations. A seasoned yet spontaneous rock-n-roll visionary, Davies was named one of Rolling Stone Magazine’s 100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time.
Dave has released several critical acclaimed albums on Red River Entertainment including his most recent album, a collaborative project with his son Russ called ‘Open Road’, released in March 2017.
  1. Cradle to the Grave
  2. Midnight Sun
  3. Islands
  4. If You Are Leaving
  5. Web of Time
  6. Mystic Woman
  7. Give You All My Love
  8. The Journey
  9. Within Each Day
  10. Same Old Blues
  11. Mr. Moon
  12. Shadows
  13. This Precious Time (Long Lonely Road)

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.