THE HOLYDRUG COUPLE share new single “Waterfalls”- New album ‘Hyper Super Mega’ out September 14th on Sacred Bones- UK live dates this November

July 30, 2018

– Share new single “Waterfalls”
– Album ‘Hyper Super Mega’ out Sept 14th on Sacred Bones
– European live dates this November


Chilean psych duo The Holydrug Couple have shared a second taste of the release of their new albumHyper Super Mega’, which is set for release on September 14th via Sacred Bones.

Latest single Waterfalls is a woozy, intoxicating ballad that reworks the feel of 60s and 70s psychedelia with modern production and dizzying synthesised textures.

Speaking about the track Ives Sepúlveda Minho explains: “I wrote a demo for this about two years ago, on a morning that I had a bad hangover. At the time I was really into this sort of melodic/chill-out, instrumental house music and ‘Exile on Main St.’-like ballads. It was the last song that I recorded on ‘Hyper Super Mega’ and the lyrics are very abstract, they have metaphors of what it means to meet someone and fall in love.”

Following the release and surrounding tours of their second album, 2015’s ‘Moonlust’ (Sacred Bones), Ives Sepúlveda Minho and Manuel Parra found themselves back at home in Santiago, Chile, feeling directionless and listless. Amidst these feelings of post-tour weariness, the words “Hyper”, “Super” and “Mega” struck a chord – terms with origins so steeped in history and mythology, which have come to represent stark superlatives of consumerism. Hypercapitalism, hypermarket, hyperspace, hyperactive, hyperlink, megabyte, megabuck, megalomania, megastorm, megaplex, superhighway, superhero, supermodel, supersize… “It seemed that the scale of everything over-exaggerates human capacity and time” Ives notes.

So, the duo immersed themselves in these feelings and started to build the foundations of their new record. Amidst eleven tracks of perfectly-formed, heady psych-pop, ‘Hyper Super Mega’ speaks of immediacy, internet and social media, consumption, love and a comfortable despair at the state of the planet. It tells of a world over-connected through cell phones and information, whilst hinting at the place of occult language and imagery in an attempt to convene different and unknown places, or places that are open to interpretation.

Sonically, if Hyper Super Mega’ feels, in places, like a classic pop record, that’s because Sepúlveda and Parra spent much of the recording process thinking, too, about the classic pop records of the ’60s and ’70s. Masterpieces by bands like The Beatles, The Beach Boys, and Fleetwood Mac were all reference points, not always explicitly in sound, but certainly in spirit. The duo approached the mythos of the “classic album” from their own inimitable perspective, hoping to make a record that felt authentically like The Holydrug Couple that might fit into the same canon. Overall, Hyper Super Mega’ is a capsule history of The Holydrug Couple, incorporating a decade of experience recording, touring the world, and absorbing the sights and sounds of their native Chile.

‘Hyper Super Mega’ track list:
1. Hyper Super Mega
2. Waterfalls
3. Forever End
4. Ikebana Telephone Line
5. Lucifer’s Coat
6. I’ll Only Say This
7. Easy
8. Chevalier Soda
9. Hotel Cache
10. Western Shade
11. Mercury Lake

The Holydrug Couple tour dates:
12-13 Oct – US – Desert Daze Festival
17 Nov – NL – Amsterdam – Cinetol
18 Nov – UK – Brighton – Green Door Store
19 Nov – UK – Manchester – Now Wave
20 Nov – UK – London – The Lexington

21 Nov – FR – Paris – Point FMR
25 Nov – DE – Cologne – Bumann & Sohn
26 Nov – DE – Hamburg – Hafenklang
27 Nov – DE – Berlin – Urban Spree
28 Nov – DK – Copenhagen – Loppen
29 Nov – NO – Oslo – Revolver
30 Nov – SE – Stockholm  – Melodymaker
01 Dec – SE – Malmo – Plan B

Hyper Super Mega pre-order
The Holydrug Couple on Bandcamp

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.