RAYLAND BAXTER Shares “79 Shiny Revolvers”  Taken from the new album ‘Wide Awake’ Due 13th July on ATO Records

July 2, 2018

Shervin Lainez


Shares “79 Shiny Revolvers”

 Taken from the new album ‘Wide Awake’
Due 13th July on ATO Records


Less than two weeks before the release of his album Wide Awake’ (July 13/ATO), Rayland Baxter has offered a new song from the Butch Walker-produced project. “79 Shiny Revolvers” was the first song Rayland wrote during his three-month long isolation quest at Franklin, Kentucky’s secluded Thunder Sound Studios. He composed fifty songs there, ten of which eventually became ‘Wide Awake.’

“79 Shiny Revolvers” is, in Rayland’s own estimation, one of the most important songs he’s ever written. Its lyrics burst with irony and cutting humor to interrogate our nation’s fixation on guns: “You really wanna save the world, man / well, I wanna save it too / we can blow em away / the American way.”

Says Rayland, “’79 Shiny Revolvers’ is a satirical and sensitive song about the shortcomings of our human race. I watch and I write, not only as an onlooker but as a participant. As the world continues to swing around the sun, I cannot help but notice that we are good people. However, our shortcomings have been highlighted by a long line of imperfect decisions. Leonard Cohen died the day I wrote this song.”

The previous two songs from ‘Wide Awake’ have been earning praise, with the Nashville Scene raving, “if you don’t know Baxter, you’re in for a treat.” “Casanova” was named one of GQ’s Songs of the Summer 2018 and has been the #1 most added Americana single at radio for the past two weeks. “Strange American Dream” was heralded by NPR Music/World Café as “a piano driven ear worm of a song that sounds like a distant cousin to The Beatles’ ‘Lady Madonna.’”

Listen to “Casanova” here:

And “Strange American Dream” here:

Rayland Baxter’s new album is a dream realised. Since he first started writing music, this roving rock ‘n’ roll philosopher dreamed of a space where he could devote every waking hour to creating.  The hard-touring musician finally found it in the form of an abandoned rubber band factory in Franklin, KY, where he covered the windows, threw a mattress on the floor, and with guitar and piano in tow, spent three straight months writing.  At night he would sit and listen to the sounds around him: coyotes, the howling wind, the faint prattle of the nightly TV news.

The result of this isolation quest is ‘Wide Awake’ (July 13/ATO Records) a ten-song collection that celebrates the best aspects of humanity and grasps at understanding the worst.

“This is an album about decision making,” Baxter explains. “It’s about being a human at the crossroads. Do I do good or do I do evil? Do I lie or do I tell the truth? Am I going to be happy or am I going to be sad? All of these questions and emotions are things I see in myself, and they’re the same things I see in everyone else no matter where I go.”

‘Wide Awake’ was produced by Butch Walker and features Walker himself on bass, Cage the Elephant’s Nick Bockrath on guitar, Dr. Dog’s Erick Slick on drums, and piano wizard Aaron Embry (Elliott Smith, Brian Eno) on keys. Rayland’s father Bucky Baxtercontributes pedal steel, as does original Nashville Cat Lloyd Green.
1.    Strange American Dream
2.    Casanova
3.    Angeline
4.    79 Shiny Revolvers
5.    Amelia Baker
6.    Without Me
7.    Hey Larocco
8.    Sandra Monica
9.    Everything To Me
10.  Let It All Go, Man


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.