AMBER ARCADES   Announces new UK tour dates in October New album, European Heartbreak, for release on 28th September 2018 via Heavenly Recordings

May 30, 2018

Nick Helderman



Announces new UK tour dates in October

New album, European Heartbreak, for release on 28th September 2018 via Heavenly Recordings

Listen to “Simple Song” and an accompanying video which is part 2 of a video trilogy directed by Elliott Arndt



Amber Arcades, the moniker of the Dutch-born musician Annelotte De Graaf, has announced details of her second album, European Heartbreak, set for release on 28th September 2018 via Heavenly Recordings.

As well as playing some intimate live shows in the UK and Europe this summer inc. a London show at Omeara on 7th June, Amber Arcades have announced further runs in July and October. Full dates below, with new additions in bold:

June 4 – 7 – Beaches Brew Festival, Marina Di Ravenna, Italy
Wednesday 6th June – Le Pop-Up Du Label, Paris, France
Thursday 7th June – Omeara, London
Friday 8th June – Esquires, Bedford
Saturday 9th June – The Boileroom, Guildford
Wednesday 13th June – Kantine am Bergain, Berlin, Germany
Thursday 14th June – EKKO, Utrecht, Netherlands
Friday 20th July – The Kings (The Loft), Southsea
Saturday 21st July – Bluedot Festival, Macclesfield
Thursdy 26th July – The Portland Arms, Cambridge
Friday 27th July – The Cellar, Oxford
Saturday 28th July – Indietracks, Derbyshire
Sunday 12th August – Planet Oedipus Festival, Amsterdam

Friday 17th August – Green Man Festival, Crickhowell
Friday 7th September – Festival No. 6, Portmeirion
Wednesday 3rd October – The Exchange, Bristol
Thursday 4th October – The Deaf Institute, Manchester
Friday 5th October – Mono, Glasgow
Saturday 6th October – Think Tank, Newcastle
Sunday 7th October – The Polar Bear, Hull
Tuesday 9th October – Belgrave Music Hall, Leeds
Friday 12th October – The Haunt, Brighton
Thursday 25th October – Rotown, Rotterdam
Friday 26th October – Sugarfactory, Amsterdam
Saturday 27th October – Merelyn, Nijmegen

The band recently shared the video for “Simple Song”, which is part 2 in a trilogy of videos which aim to give a deeper understanding of the new album and De Graaf’s thinking around what’s currently happening in Europe, love, the passing of time and how the three intertwine. All feature music from European Heartbreak. Watch and share it HERE.

Annelotte said the following about “Simple Song”:

“This music video forms part 2 of a trilogy which tells a modern European (love) story, touching on various thoughts and feelings that inspired my new record. Using the medium of film to tell this story ties it to one of the central ideas of the record, which is the essential nature of storytelling in understanding our lives. For me, part 1 focused very much on a feeling of isolation, being trapped in an external surrounding which feels anxious and numb at the same time. Part 2, the music video for Simple Song, translates these feelings into the dynamics of a romantic relationship.”

“Simple Song” follows the release of the single, “Goodnight Europe”, and its accompanying video which was part 1 of a 3 part story – watch and share it HERE. Part 3 is to follow soon.

European Heartbreak was recorded and co-produced in LA with Chris Cohen from Deerhoof and in Richmond, Virginia with Trey Pollard (Natalie Prass, The Waterboys, Bedouine) who oversaw horn and string overdubs from Spacebomb. A vast step forward from her critically acclaimed debut album Fading Lines, this selection of songs flit around Europe, from Berlin to Spain to the south of France. It’s European not just in lyrical theme but in the sly sophistication of its music: songs that carry with them the air of open-topped cars on clifftop roads, of cocktails on the terrace at sunset. And then the lyrics undercut that sunny mood, artfully and skilfully.

European Heartbreak is about the nature of past and memory and our tendency to over-romanticise the events of our lives. It also deals with the passage of time, the relationship between past, present and future. And what is revealed, as the past is examined, is the disillusionment that had been concealed behind the carapace of romance. “Alpine Town”, “Oh My Love”, “Something’s Gonna Take Your Love Away” and “Goodnight Europe” encapsulate the album, digging into the themes of the record the most. Tourism, the romanticising of the past and of new love, how everything moves in cycles, the way things always change but never really change, our fluid concepts of nationality and identity… Both in politics and in love. European Heartbreak is an album that feels devastatingly truthful, precisely because it admits the lies.

Annelotte said the following about the album:

“If it were called American Heartbreak, you wouldn’t bat an eye. Somehow calling it European Heartbreak feels far less comfortable, almost like a statement in itself. I’m Dutch, hence European. The focus of the record is Europe. As for Heartbreak, for mea heartbreak symbolises any kind of falling apart of one of these concepts or stories we invent for ourselves, like romantic love, a sense of identity, nationality, an economic system. It’s kind of a universal thing in my mind.” 

After recording sessions in LA, Annelotte embarked on a week-long road trip through California’s national parks ending up in Death Valley, viewing the sunset from a famous vantage point. Surrounded by tourists with their smartphones, all very much not of their environment, the moment captured the sense of alientation that haunts the album’s 11 songs. Everything clicked, it all came together: our quest for meaning, our ongoing existential crisis, our desire to live life to the fullest, and our need to convince ourselves we are doing so and to try to prove it to the world: through something as mundane as holiday photos. Photostaken at this moment would end up forming the album artwork and imagery.

You can take all that from European Heartbreak. On the other hand, of course, you can just hear one of the year’s best pop records, and relish the skill of the writing, the depth of the production, the insidiousness of the melodies. It depends how far you want to lift the veil of life.

European Heartbreak is available to pre-order here. The tracklisting is as follows:

1. Simple Song
2. Hardly Knew
3. Oh My Love (What Have We Done)
4. Goodnight Europe
5. Alpine Town
6. I’ve Done The Best
7. Self-Portrait In A Car At Night
8. Something’s Gonna Take Your Love Away
9. Antoine
10. Where Did You Go
11. Baby, Eternity

European Heartbreak Album Art:

Simple Song Single Art



You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.