Optiganally Yours (Pinback) Shares “Whomever Watches You Sleep” Track Via Brooklyn Vegan | Rob Crow 2018 Artist In Residence For Joyful Noise

March 8, 2018




“Whomever Watches You Sleep” from that record, which is the kind of bedroom indie synthpop that would have fit in perfectly with the music Optiganally Yours was making in the late ’90s and early ’00s, but with some more modern-sounding production that makes it fit in perfectly today too.  
– Brooklyn Vegan

Brooklyn Vegan has shared the new track from Optiganally Yours, one of the many projects of Pinback’s Rob Crow. The track is entitled “Whomever Watches You Sleep” and it will be part of his 2018 artist in residence campaign with Joyful Noise. During this campaign he will distribute a record each month of the year from his various projects including Optiganally Yours, Thingy, Goblin Cock, Byre, Third Act Problems, Other, Remote Sequence Project, Physics, Anal Trump, and an unreleased Pinback single.

When talking about this track Rob issued this statement: “Optiganally Yours started in the mid 90s when one of Rob’s housemates, Pea Hix, got obsessed with the Optigan. This was a chord organ made by Mattel in the early 70s that played back lo-if sound loops on LP-sized discs. Think of it as the 70s version of GarageBand. When Pea had the idea to start a band around these haunting sounds, Rob chimed in and said “I’ll be the singer, and the band will be called Optiganally Yours.” Two albums were released in the late 90s (“Spotlight on Optiganally Yours” and “Optiganally Yours Presents: Exclusively Talentmaker”), with work beginning on a third. This album was to be called “O.Y. In Hi-Fi” because Pea had acquired the original studio master tapes which held all of the sounds recorded for the Optigan discs, and was assembling the basic tracks from thousands of loops and samples from these tapes. These sounds were all hi-fi studio quality, in contrast to the grainy, lo-fi sound of the Optigan discs. For a variety of reasons, the project proceeded in fits and starts, never quite gaining the momentum it needed to get finished, despite the quality of the songs. Some of the songs made it into the live set, but most of the rest have remained unheard for many years. Periodically the songs have been updated and re-recorded, such that very little remains of the original recordings made all those years ago. Now, with the release of Rob’s box set on Joyful Noise, the timing seems perfect to finally bring this collection of songs into the light!”

A note from JNR on the project:

We are delighted to announce that Rob Crow will be releasing a plethora of new music as part of our 2018 Artist In Residence series. Rob Crow is perhaps the most absurdly diverse artist we have ever worked with (who else can pivot seamlessly from Pinback to Anal Trump?). This dude’s musical output is parallel to none… And this is by far the most ambitious residency we’ve ever attempted.

What’s included this year?

    • Over 300 minutes of music, created by Rob Crow & friends throughout 2018.
    • TEN limited edition vinyl records (nine 12″s, one 7″) from ten distinct musical projects. Each release limited to 475 copies on colored vinyl,
    • Deluxe box set to house all this beautiful vinyl (numbered out of 475).
    • MP3 and WAV downloads of new albums sent to you on the 15th of each month.
    • A signed art print.
    • Various surprises from Rob, possibly including but certainly not limited to a karaoke DVD, cassettes, flexi-discs, zines, and other items.
    • The satisfaction of financially supporting an incredible artist and his family. DID WE MENTION ROB CROW HAS FIVE FRIGGIN KIDS?!

Throughout his 2018 residency, Rob Crow will be releasing new works from at least 10 distinct projects, including:

Optiganally Yours
Goblin Cock
Third Act Problems
Remote Action Sequence Project
Anal Trump

…and an unreleased single from Pinback

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.