Kim Richey shares new single from album Edgeland out 30th March on Yep Roc 

March 14, 2018

Kim Richey
shares new single from album Edgeland
out 30th March on Yep Roc 

Kim Richey will be on tour supporting Gretchen Peters

“…Richey’s intimate simplicity makes for compelling listening” – Los Angeles Times

Grammy-nominated acclaimed singer/songwriter Kim Richey has shared a new track from her forthcoming album Edgeland, released 30th March on Yep Roc Records.

“Chase Wild Horses” is the new single, in which Richey explains “I wrote [Chase Wild Horses] with one of my most favorite people – Mike Henderson. You might recognize his name from the beginnings of The Steeldrivers when Chris Stapleton was singing in the band. He and Chris teamed up on a bunch of songs on Chris’ latest record. I’m proud to know this fellow and to get to make up songs with him.”  

Earlier this year, Richey shared the first single, “Whistle On Occasion” featuring Chuck Prophet and described it as “a poetic and tender tune speaking of life’s simple pleasures.”
Recorded in Nashville, Edgeland is Richey’s eighth studio album was produced by Brad Jones (Over the Rhine, Hayes Carll, Josh Rouse). A who’s who of Nashville players joined Richey in the studio, including Dan Dugmore (multi-instrumentalist); Jerry Roe (drums); Pat Sansone (multi-instrumentalist); Doug Lancio (multi-instrumentalist); Dan Cohen (multi-instrumentalist); Chris Carmichael (string arranger); and Robyn Hitchcock (guitar).

The follow up to 2013’s Thorn In My Heart, the album offers 12 original compositions and features songwriting collaborations with Maendo Sanz, Mike Henderson, Bill Deasy, Al Anderson, Jenny Queen, Harry Hoke, Chuck Prophet and Pat McLaughlin, with the latter two also playing guitar and mandolin, respectively, on the album.

As a songwriter, Richey has written two Number One hits for Radney Foster (“Nobody Wins”) and Trisha Yearwood (“Believe Me Baby”), the latter of which was Grammy-nominated, as well as tunes for Mary Chapin Carpenter, Gretchen Peters, Patty Loveless, Jamie Lawson and Jim Lauderdale. Her vocals also appear on Jason Isbell’s praised Southeastern album as well as albums by Ryan Adams and Shawn Colvin.

Kim Richey will be on tour in the UK supporting Gretchen Peters in May/June.

19 May – Stamford Corn Exchange, Stamford
20  May – The Stables, Milton Keynes
22  May – The Queens Hall, Edinburgh
23  May – The Sage, Gateshead
25  May – Birmingham Town Hall, Birmingham
26  May – The Atkinson, Southport
27  May – RNCM, Manchester
30  May – Leeds City Varieties, Leeds
31  May – The Apex, Bury St Edmunds
02 June – St. George’s Hall, Bristol
03 June – Pavilion Theatre, Worthing
07June – Mareel Centre  Lerwick, Shetland Isles
12 June – St. David’s Hall, Cardiff
13 June – Cadogan Hall, London

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.