Grawl!x shares “Appendix B” (featuring Haiku Salut and Richard J Birkin) from new album Appendix due out on Reckless Yes on 6 April

March 24, 2018

James Birthwistle

Shares new single “Appendix B”
Featuring Haiku Salut and Richard J Birkin
From new album Appendix
Out on 6 April via Reckless Yes

Derby-based multi-instrumentalist and filmmaker Grawl!x (aka James Machin) shares the second single to be taken from his forthcoming album Appendix, which is due out on 6 April via Reckless Yes Records. “Appendix B” begins with stark and evocative piano and a chorus of vocal sounds before blossoming in to a lush chamber pop song featuring strings arranged by film composer Richard J Birkin and with contributions from Haiku Salut. The track was premiered via The 405, who wrote; “Prepare yourself to be swept up into a whole wondrous world of colour and feeling… From his home behind the piano, stately and emotive as ever, he is embalmed in further layers of delicate instrumentation”

Appendix concludes Grawl!x‘s trilogy on grief, yet it is however, anything but maudlin and its devastation lies more in its beautiful layered melodies than in its melancholy subject matter.

Appendix follows on from his 2014 debut Good Grief and 2016 follow-up Aye! It was originally supposed to be a piano-only record which then ballooned into something much more ambitious in scope and scale. James had previously worked with TV and film composer Richard J. Birkin, who had contributed to the album Good Grief. They had always talked about doing a full long-player with a string quartet and the new recordings seemed like the ideal opportunity, so Birkin agreed to compose and conduct the string arrangements on Appendix. The results are inspired and utterly dazzling, creating a startlingly cinematic canvas.

Another carefully curated contribution comes from fellow Derbyshire trio Haiku Salut, who added their own unique magic, playing accordion, vibraphone & trumpet respectively and singing as part of the choir which reoccurs throughout the album.

Alongside the album is the release of short film Fleeting, written and directed by Grawl!x and featuring music from the album as its soundtrack. It speaks of love unrequited, love lost, but self-found, of resilience. The music suits the big screen, and the album is often cinematic in scope, and majestic of sweep it is packed with the extraordinary and everyday of love and the joy and sadness that state takes in.

Appendix will be released digitally and on limited edition frosted clear 12” vinyl on 6 April 2018 and more live dates will be announced soon.


1. Appendix A
2. Appendix B
3. The Moment’s Gone
4. Don’t Do it to Yourself
5. Trawpse
6. Homestretch
7. Minutiae
8. A Tether
9. –
10. Apricity

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.