Dead Meadow share second single, “Nobody Home” from forthcoming album

March 2, 2018

Photo Credit: Jessica Senteno.


Dead Meadow
to release new album
The Nothing They Need
out 30th March 2018

Band premiere second single,
“Nobody Home” on Brooklyn Vegan

Dead Meadow have shared a new track from their forthcoming album, The Nothing They Need (Xemu Records). They previously shared the album’s first single, “Keep Your Head” which perfectly exemplifies the band’s unique marriage of Sabbath riffs, dreamy layers of guitar-fuzz bliss, and singer Jason Simon’s melodic croon.  Now the band have released a second track from the album – “Nobody Home,” which singer Jason Simon told Brooklyn Vegan (who premiered the track)  is “a song about the joy of being alone in solitary places.”  Brooklyn  Vegan noted, “it’s the kind of psych freak-out that Dead Meadow do so well, with fuzzed-out proto-metal riffs, trippy wah solos, and a permastoned vocal delivery. It’s great stuff.”


With the release of The Nothing They Need, Dead Meadow’s Steve Kille and Jason Simon celebrate twenty years of the band with eight songs that feature everyone that has been musically involved with the band over the years. They’re joined by original drummer Mark LaughlinStephen McCarty (the drummer throughout the Matador years), and current drummer Juan LondonoCory Shanejoins them on guitar for some Feathers era dual guitar interplay.  The album was recorded in Dead Meadows’ studio/rehearsal space, The Wiggle Room.

As with the rest of their catalog, Dead Meadow assert The Nothing They Need is meant to be an escape –  “a surreal journey.” Yet Kille notes, “I think there is a touch of apocalyptic vibes to the new album especially with the cover art that is being assembled. There is so much rhetoric and negative energy in the bigger picture of the world it is hard to not to have that show through in art. Though in the small world of people I know and we meet on tour everyone is still just as optimistic though it gets harder every day.. I think a lot of the album’s lyrics mirror that sentiment.”

While Dead Meadow met in and around Washington, D.C.’s punk/indie scene, the trio draws more of its sound from such classic rock legends as Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, and Black Sabbath. The trio formed in the fall of 1998 and their widely-acclaimed self-titled debut album was released in 1999. Within a relatively short period, the D.C. trio received offers to tour with everyone from local D.C. acts like The Make-Up and Fugazi to psychedelic rockers Brian Jonestown Massacre.

What has followed since are seven studio albums – three via Matador  Records, Shivering King and Others (2003), Feathers (2005), and Old Growth (2008) – two live albums which includes Three Kings, a feature length live film and soundtrack and more tours across the USA and Europe than the band can count. And while the person behind the drum kit has changed over the years, the core of Dead Meadow – Jason and Steve – have continued to play together throughout. Since 2007 they have been based in Los Angeles.

The Nothing They Need Tracklisting:

1.) Keep Your Head
2.) Here with the Hawk
3.) I’m So Glad
4.) Nobody Home
5.) This Shaky Hand is Not Mine
6.) Rest Natural
7.) The Light
8.) Unsettled Dust

Find Dead Meadow here:

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.