Beach House to release new album “7” on 11th May via Bella Union

March 9, 2018

Shawn Brackbill

Beach House to release new album “7” on 11th May via Bella Union

BEACH HOUSE will release 7, the group’s 7th full-length record, on 11th May 2018 via Bella Union in Europe and Sub Pop in the US. 7 features standouts including the Valentine’s Day single “Lemon Glow” along with “Black Car,” “Drunk In LA,” “Dark Spring,” and today, their latest offering, the transcendent “Dive”, the video of which can be viewed HERE. All of the songs on 7 began in Beach House’s home studio in Baltimore, and were finished at Carriage House in Stamford, CT and Palmetto Studio in Los Angeles. The album was mixed by Alan Moulder.

Beach House (Alex Scally & Victoria Legrand) released B-sides and Rarities in 2017, which served as a proverbial “cleaning out the closet” to pave the way for a new creative process. Their approach in the creation of 7 was one of rebirth and rejuvenation. Scally and Legrand used to limit themselves to what they thought they could perform live, but this time that limitation was ignored. Also, instead of one long studio session, Beach House recorded when inspired by batches of songs, which resulted in five mini-sessions over the course of eleven months.

Unlike the last four albums, 7 didn’t have a producer in the traditional sense. Spacemen 3’s Sonic Boom (Peter Kember) became a significant force on this record by shedding conventions and helping to keep the songs alive, fresh, and protected from the destructive elements of recording studio overproduction and over-perfection. The band’s trusted live drummer from 2016 to the present, James Barone, played on the entire record, helping to keep rhythm at the centre of a lot of these songs.

Beach House has also scheduled a massive, worldwide tour in support of 7beginning April 30th in Chattanooga, TN at the Signal and ending October 20th in Dublin, IE at Vicar Street.>  The tour reaches the UK for the below London and Manchester shows this Autumn:

Thursday 18th October – LONDON – Troxy ticketsFriday 19th October – MANCHESTER – Albert Hall tickets

Early pre-sales for these shows begin 8th march at 10am, with tickets going on sale for the general public 9th March at 10am. For additional information regarding tickets and more, visit Beach House’s website.

will be released 11th May via Bella Union in the UK/Europe and Sub Pop in the US. Album artwork and track–listing below:

7 tracklist:
1. Dark Spring
2. Pay No Mind
3. Lemon Glow
4. L’Inconnue
5. Drunk in L.A.
6. Dive
7. Black Car
8. Lose Your Smile
9. Woo
10. Girl of the Year
11. Last Ride


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.