THE COPS premiere new single ‘Hot Pursuit’ 

January 13, 2018

Texan punks THE COPS premiere new single ‘Hot Pursuit’ with Houston Press | Confirm details for Record Release Party next month

Following a recent confession given under duress, Artificial Head Records is hereby legally obliged to inform you that this February will see the official release of First Offense, the debut album from Houston-based protectors of punk rock and inhuman decency, The COPS.

Formed in the Fall of 2016 by members of bands from Houston’s thriving punk rock scene, straight off the night stick it’s worth observing that not only do The COPS dress like police officers when performing live, they actually sing about the system. As tracks like ‘Homicide’ channel the speed freak punk guitar play of The Briefs and Electric Frankenstein, ‘Life On The Beat’ proves itself to be a mean, municipal anthem in-waiting, that sits perversely amidst a throng of Minor Threat, Hot Snakes and Pissed Jeans-loving reprobates.

Freeing their tongues from their collective cheeks to knock out some of the catchiest and most infectious jams you’re likely to hear from anyone/anywhere, having opened shows for the likes of Dead Kennedys, JFA, NOBUNNY and Reagan Youth it seemed only logical that they would eventually team up with local legends Artificial Head Records. Having served the Houston music community loyally over the years the label has released albums from the likes of Funeral Horse, Jody Seabody & The Whirls and Cursus, not to mention some releases from further afield by bands such as Mountain God and Terminal Cheesecake.

“I’m glad that Artificial Head saw us for what we are,” explains front man and singer Tony Fulco. “I’ve been in bands and have recorded plenty of songs, put our own CDs and all that. But we’ve never done vinyl. The COPS is the best, hardest working, and funnest band I’ve ever been in. So, for them to come along and say ‘Hey, we gotta press some records!’ just makes it that much funner.”

First Offense by The COPS is released worldwide on 16th February 2018 on Artificial Head Records

Stream and share new single ‘Hot Pursuit’ by The COPS here –


Tony Fulco – Vocals
Jeff Smith – Bass
Brandon Barger – Guitar
Halston Luna – Guitar
Casey Kemp – Drums

Cover art by Peter Lee –

1. Homicide
2. Life on the Beat
3. Street Hooker Love
4. Police Brutality
5. Night Stick
6. Paraphernalia
7. Repeat Offender
8. Downtown
9. Hot Pursuit
10. Protect and Serve
11. Riot Tonight

Artist: The COPS
Album: First Offense
Label: Artificial Head Records
Release Date: 16/02/2017
Format: Vinyl/Digital


Bandcamp –


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.