EMA shares track “Dark Shadows” from ‘Outtakes from Exile’ EP, out Feb 2 on City Slang

January 13, 2018



– Shares new track Dark Shadows
– Taken from ‘Outtakes From Exile’ EP
– Out February 2nd on City Slang
– European tour with Depeche Mode starts next week

EMA returns to Europe next week to kick off a tour with Depeche Mode, but first she shares a second track from forthcoming EP, ‘Outtakes From Exile’, which will be released on February 2nd via City Slang.

“I wrote “Dark Shadows” for the film 20th Century Women” explains Erika M. Anderson. “ There was a moment when they were looking for a band to play in a punk club and thought maybe EMA would be a good fit. That didn’t end up happening, but I was intrigued by the premise — badass women living in 1970s Santa Barbara getting into punk. That’s all I knew! But I wrote the song with that in mind.  I think of it as a survivor song, someone leaving a dark past behind, emerging again into the world. Whoever it is they definitely are wearing sunglasses”

In this album cycle, written entirely before the last presidential election, EMA situates herself in what she calls “The Outer Ring.” It’s a zone between the country and the city, both literally and figuratively — a surprisingly diverse world of people united only by poverty and tension, and by the anger that comes from having your story and your struggles erased from the narrative. The vignettes here are less about an actual place than scenes that could be unfolding anywhere in America, including the stories of recent immigrants, defiant feminists, nihilistic mall teens, police shootings, and ex-urbanites who’ve been pushed out of city centers by stagnating wages and rising expense, forced up against resentful rural communities swallowed by sprawl.

EMA is not new to material that speaks truth to power (“Active Shooter,” Song For Ghostship), and while these songs pull no punches in confronting ugly realities, they never wallow in despair. Exile In The Outer Ring’ and the accompanying forthcoming ‘Outtakes From Exile EP’ are a portrait of resilience that render American poverty and resentment with frightening realism and deep empathy.

‘Outtakes From Exile’ EP track list:
1. Dark Shadows
2. MopTops (Twist While The World Stops)
3. I Don’t Treat Anything Good
4. From The Love That We Made
5. Breathalyzer Instrumental (EMA long cut)

EMA European live dates 2018:
15 Monday – Dresden, DE @ Groovestation
16 Tuesday – Berlin, DE @ Auster-Club
17 Wednesday – Berlin, DE @ Mercedes-Benz Arena (w/ Depeche Mode)
19 Friday – Berlin, DE @ Mercedes-Benz Arena (w/ Depeche Mode)
21 Sunday – Nuremburg, DE @ Arena Nürnberger (w/ Depeche Mode)
23 Tuesday – Paris, FR @ Le Supersonic Festival
24 Wednesday – Bordeaux, FR @ Bordeaux Metropole Arena (w/ Depeche Mode)
26 Friday – Luzern, CH @ Sedel
27 Saturday – Milan, IT @ Mediolanum Forum (w/ Depeche Mode)
28 Sunday – Bologna, IT @ Freakout Club
29 Monday – Milan, IT @ Mediolanum Forum (w/ Depeche Mode)
31 Wednesday – Prague, CZ @ O2 Arena (w/ Depeche Mode)
February 2018
01 Thursday – Brno, CZ @ Leitnerova Club
02 Friday – Budapest, HU @ BSA (w/ Depeche Mode)
03 Saturday – Kosice, SK @ Tabačka Kulturfabrik
04 Sunday – Vienna, AT @ Stadhalle (w/ Depeche Mode)

Praise for ‘Exile in the Outer Ring’:
“Blasting the binary arguments that dominate America, Erika M Anderson’s brilliant third album looks into the Outer Ring.” – The Sunday Times Culture
“Each track is dripping with societal reform, documenting identity, poverty, capitalism and feminism through surly and meditated lyrics that reflect the contemporary age” – Aesthetica
“EMA’s powers of empathetic evocations prove potent.” – **** Record Collector
“EMA takes a stand against appropriation in her superb third album.” – ***** FT
“Raw vocals & impassioned delivery draw attention to EMA’s deeply personal and starkly candid lyrics “- The Line of Best Fit
“It’s an album of heavy drones, self-loathing and Erika’s gloriously twisted wit and feels like a sonic monument to the current fucked-up status of America in 2017” – The Quietus
“‘Aryan Nation’ is a noise-laden chronicle of the jilted ‘white trash’ Midwest, stuck in a vicious cycle of crime, poverty and dejection. The title alone is bound to raise a few eyebrows” – Drowned In Sound
 “A diverse palette of sparks & friction applied to a canvas of shifting unease” – 4/5 DORK
“EMA doesn’t preach, she simply draws serious attention to deep-set societal issues. When it’s done in such a striking and powerful way, it’s hard not to take notice” – DIY
Themes around poverty and alienation have never felt so emotionally compelling” – Electronic Sound
 “Clever, unflinchingly experimental and catchy.” – MOJO
“Anderson has all but perfected a very delicate balance. She presents subjects boldly and forcefully, but also with a great deal of sensitivity and thought-provoking tact” – 4/5 The Skinny, Album of the Month
“Erika M. Anderson’s third solo album is a surreal and powerful story about political alienation. Her character-driven songs of noise, folk, and pop music thrum with rage and fear.” – Pitchfork
“She is one of current indie music’s great world builders, versed in heavy metal’s sense of myth, industrial music’s lessons in texture, and feminist punk’s mandate to tell stories still mostly hidden in the shadows.” – NPR Music
“…Exile In The Outer Ring could stand as one of the artistic triumphs of this dark time.” – The A.V. Club
“All throughout Exile in the Outer Ring, whispers and screams, noise and tune, light and darkness trade places until the differences of disappear. For some this will feel like resistance; for others, existence. In truth, it is a bit of both.” – Rolling Stone
“This is heavy music, but it’s beautiful, too, and you can get lost in it.” – Stereogum
“You don’t listen to Exile, you explore it. Each successive track is one step further into darkness.” – Bandcamp


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.