A GRAVE WITH NO NAME shares new single “When I Pass Through Here”- New album ‘Passover’ due Jan 19th & London show announced

November 20, 2017

Melanie Coles

– Shares new single “When I Pass Through Here”
– Album ‘Passover’ due Jan 19th via Forged Artifacts
– London show announced

London-based multi-instrumentalist & songwriter Alexander Shields, aka, A Grave With No Name, is sharing another track of his haunting art-rock sounds with new single “When I Pass Through Here”. The track is taken from his upcoming album ‘Passover’, which is due out Jan 19th via Forged Artifacts.

Speaking about the track, Alexander said, “Amidst the studio sessions for ‘Passover’’ it became apparent that this song’s message of confronting and shedding our regrets, in order to become a better person and make a positive mark on the world – however small that may be – fitted in perfectly within the album’s narrative.”

For some years now A Grave With No Name has been mining a distinctive vein of haunted art-rock, to spellbinding effect. His sixth album ‘Passover’ is his most most vital and poetic release to date, presenting the artist’s wide-ranging musical approaches so far, and forging skillful, at times surprising, new sounds from those unique textures.

Shields wrote the songs, which he describes as a set of “interlocking short-stories”, during a stay in his family home in the wake of his grandmother’s death – a home he shared with her throughout his young life. As such, a spectral presence makes itself known throughout Passover’, with themes such as the mortality of loved ones, and returning to the bosom of the family being explored, alongside a burning questioning of the comforts of religion and ceremony, and our attempts to reconcile the elemental with the domestic.

Whereas previous records such as 2014’s ‘Feathers Wet, Under the Moon’ saw him working with a large ensemble of players including members of Lambchop, Silver Jews, and guitarist William Tyler, ‘Passover’ reflects its intimate themes by pairing Shields with childhood friend, drummer Daniel Paton, and brings aboard bassist Ben Reed who worked on Frank Ocean’s ‘blond(e)’ and ‘Endless’ albums. Recording once again at London’s Holy Mountain studios with producer Misha Hering, Shields creates meticulously crafted tapestries by weaving field recordings, and ambient sounds through the looms of melodic tape-warped country-rock (“By the Water’s Edge”, “Wreath”), haunted skeletal folk (“Hot Blood“, “Hunter“) and lonesome string ballads (“Wren“).

A culmination of all that came before it, yet a singular achievement in its ambition and scope, ‘Passover’ makes a remarkable addition to an already fascinating catalogue.

See A Grave With No Name live:

23rd Jan – Olympic Cafe, Paris FR
25th Jan – The Waiting Room, London UK

‘Passover’ artwork: 

‘Passover‘ tracklist:
1. Supper
2. By The Water’s Edge
3. Path
4. Wreath
5. Hunter
6. Blunt Knives
7. (Interlude)
8. Pottery & Porcelain
9. When I Pass Through Here
10. Kitchen
11. Canary
12. Hot Blood
13. Wren

A Grave With No Name Facebook

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.