J RODDY WALSTON AND THE BUSINESS Share new single, ‘Numbers’

September 11, 2017

Eric Ryan Anderson



Share new single, ‘Numbers

New album Destroyers of the Soft Life due 29th September
via ATO Records


Baltimore-bred J. Roddy Walston & The Business has released “Numbers” today, a pop-leaning song whose lyrics go deeper than the melodies might initially imply. When it comes to relationships, can truth really be black or white? What happens when you love and hate someone simultaneously? “Numbers” explores these binaries and is the final track to be made available prior to the release of the band’s fourth studio album Destroyers of the Soft Life, coming out September 29 via ATO Records. Listen to “Numbers” below…

Destroyers of the Soft Life began two years ago when Rod Walston (lead singer / guitarist / piano), Billy Gordon (guitar), Logan Davis (bass) and Steve Colmus (drums) purchased space in a Richmond, Virigina WWII era bomb shelter turned lumber yard. The foursome gutted and subsequently spent seven months transforming it into their own recording studio. As they put down roots Walston also became a father for the first time, inspiring lyrics that take an unflinching look at family dynamics and parental motivations.

“We had never been a band where we pretended that it’s 1965,” Walston said. “Loud rock and roll music has become less relevant because it’s just been on a loop,” he says. “If there was any rule on this record, it was, let’s be a part of music right now. I want to be part of living music in this moment.”

Road warriors from the time they formed in 2002, JRWATB has been an underground favorite as they repeatedly crisscrossed the country’s clubs and bars, carving out their own rock ‘n roll niche. In the fall of 2013 their album Essential Tremors gained commercial and critical acclaim and lived on the Heatseekers chart for 6+ consecutive months with singles “Take It As It Comes” and “Heavy Bells”, reaching #9 and #12 at alternative radio, respectively. Essential Tremors tracks were also utilized in TV spots for Coors Light, ESPN and Showtime’s “Quarry”.

“A fascinating mixture of Arcade Fire grandeur and Weezer riff crunching” – Billboard

“Walston and the Business smooth out some of their scruffier tendencies resulting in a cleaner, anthem-friendly approach with big, booming refrains reminiscent of Kings of Leon.” – Rolling Stone

“J. Roddy Walston & The Business make a helluva noise … continually challenge themselves, fusing a fondness for blistering riffs with songwriting that simply refuses to settle in one place.” – Clash Magazine

“We believe good things come to those who wait, and after four long years, we are thanking the music gods for the new music of J. Roddy Walston & The Business.” – Baltimore Magazine

Album Artwork:

1. You Know Me Better
2. Blade Of Truth
3. Numbers
4. Ways
5. Heart Is Free
6. I Called You
7. The Wanting
8. Bad Habits
9. Bleed Out
10. Burn Black



You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.