Ingebrigt Håker Flaten’s Time Machine premieres track via Tiny Mix Tapes from upcoming album

September 11, 2017

Ingebrigt Håker Flaten’s Time Machine premieres track via Tiny Mix Tapes from forthcoming album
Austin free-jazz double-bassist solo album, frequent collaborator w/ Joe McPhee, Ken Vandermark, et al. 



Austin, TX experimental / free-jazz artist Ingebrigt Håker Flaten’s Time Machine premieres a track from their forthcoming album Hong Kong Cab today via Tiny Mix Tapes. The album is out September 14th on Self-Sabotage Records (subsidiary of Super Secret Records) and “Time Machine”  listen here-

Sound-wise, the debut effort from Time Machine, a solo vehicle for Atomic and The Thing bassist Ingebrigt Håker Flaten, is a bit of a departure for the double bassist, especially for those used to hearing his roles in free-jazz blowouts and improvised music deep dives.
Instead of going to town in a group context with Joe McPheeKen Vandermark or Paal Nilssen-Love, Håker Flaten, on his first solo bass album since 2012, features the Oppdal, Norway-born, Austin, Texas-based standup and electric bass player at his solo experimentation best.
The electrified, harsh noise-approaching tracks include the pulsates-to-the-core “Superbad” and “Trem Azul.” On the title track, Håker Flaten’s dodges outer space shrapnel on his effects pedal-manipulated, 1963 pre-CBS precision bass that he had played since 1992. The original improvisation is the last documented sounds Håker Flaten made on the instrument before it was swiped from a taxicab in Hong Kong.
Håker Flaten returns to his upright jazz bass roots in “Zerfu,” a dedication to Ethopian harp player Zerfu Demissie, and “Jimmy,” an ode to the great Jimmy Garrison. “Hotel Isabel,” named after a favorite crash pad for visiting musicians in Mexico City, showcases Håker Flaten’s fast-moving, modern classical arco.

The album will be released on the same day as the kickoff to the annual Sonic Transmissions Festival, which Håker Flaten founded 3-years-ago.

Hong Kong Cab will be available on LP and download on September 14th via Self-Sabotage Records. Pre-order LP HERE.


Artist: Ingebrigt Håker Flaten’s Time Machine
Album: Hong Kong Cab
Label: Self-Sabotage Records
Release date: September 14th, 2017
01.Trem Azul
02. Holy Mountain
03. Hotel Isabel
04. All or Nothing
05. The Time Machine
06. Rip Rig and Paranoia
07. Guts
08. Zerfu
09. Hong Kong Cab
10. Jimmy
11. Superbad
12. Space Odyssey

On The Web:


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.