CRISTOBAL AND THE SEA share new radio show & release new LP ‘Exitoca’ out now via City Slang

September 26, 2017

– Share new radio show Radio Exitoca
– Album ‘Exitoca‘ out now via City Slang!

–  European tour dates this November! 


Made up of members from Portugal, Spain, France, Egypt & USA, Cristobal and the Sea are celebrating the release of their new album ‘Exitoca‘ today. To coincide with this the band have shared an hour long radio show named ‘Radio Exitoca’, created by themselves that talks about the creation & influences of the record.


The album-title is a reference to the genre known as Exotica, which represented the escapist dreams of a generation of American salary-men and housewives in the 50s and 60s. Their desire was to move to an uncomplicated Pacific paradise; something that captured their own creative needs rather than the actual physical environment they found themselves in. Cristobal and the Sea‘s ‘Exitoca’ is the attempt to free that dreamer movement from the grips of it’s privileged background and reclaim it for those who need it most now.

For Cristobal and the Sea, expatriates from Portugal, Spain, France, Egypt  & USA, now based in London, the idea of Exotica is more than just an escapist plot to avoid workaday drollery; it is a proposed evacuation from the toxic mires of Brexit; the very notion that threatens the place they now call home. Their current political situation endangers access to their very art and lifestyle, which is commonly the pressure required for musicians to produce great work.

‘Exitoca espouses Cristobal and the Sea‘s principle tenet: they call everyone to embrace mystical otherness and accept the virtues of foreignness.

Cristobal and the Sea are: 
Joao Seixas- Vocals, Guitar
Leila Seguin- Vocals, Flute
Alejandro Romero- Vocals, Bass
Elliott Arndt- Vocals, Percussion, Keyboard
Youssef Ibrahim – Drums

Tour dates:
01.11 LUX Luxemburg De Gudde Wellen
02.11  CH Lucerne Schuur 200 20 CHF
06.11 DE Berlin Badehaus
07.11 DE Hamburg Nochtwache
08.11 NL Amsterdam Paradiso
10.11 FR Paris Pop Up Du Label
17.11 UK London Moth Club

Exitoca‘ tracklist:
1. Porcelanosa
2. Goat Flokk
3. Totem Tennis
4. Steal My Phone
5. Father and Producer
6. Salsa Dude
7. The Seed
8. Brother
9. Smadness
10. The Leaf Isn’t Turning Red
11. Before Nine
12. Uma Voz
13. Sa Ou Che
14. Take A Look At My Mind

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.