Washer Premiere “Dog Go Bark”- All Aboard Out September 15th on Exploding In Sound

August 16, 2017

Montana Elliot

Washer Premiere “Dog Go Bark” via GoldFlakePaint

All Aboard Out September 15th on
Exploding In Sound


Brooklyn’s Washer is now streaming their new song “Dog Go Bark” via GoldFlakePaint. The song comes off the band’s new record All Aboard, set to be released on September 15th via Exploding In Sound. GoldFlakePaint calls the song “completely enthralling,” saying “the new track rises and falls and rises again, sometimes refined and lethargic and then finally letting loose for the track’s formidable final bout of energy that leaves you wanting more each and every time you hear it.” Pre-orders for All Aboard are available now via Exploding In Sound. Washer has also announced their record release show at Sunnyvale in Brooklyn on September 15th. Tickets for that show are available now.
Hear Washer’s new single “Dog Go Bark” via GoldFlakePaint.
All Aboard is an album filled with fuzz, aggression, off-kilter rhythmic structures and mangled pop hooks. Throughout the record, Washer filter complex musical ideas into minimalist garage rock, creating a brilliant and bright sampling of DIY punk. The album was recorded and mixed by Nick Dooley (Flagland, Stove, Bethlehem Steel) at Gravesend Recordings (Silent Barn) in Brooklyn and The Barn in Panton, VT.
All Aboard Tracklisting
1. Forget Everything
2. Elbow
3. Lyin
4. Tooth & Fist
5. Dog Go Bark
6. Feel It Coming On
7. The Scab
8. Afraid To Care
9. Your Guess Is As Bad As Mine
10. The Crow
11. Bass 2
12. Wet Nails
13. Everybody Sounds Fake
14. Shortcut To A Sore Throat
15. Enough Already

Tour Dates
08/11 – Cambridge, MA @ Marsh Post #422 w/ Ovlov, Rick Rude & Lina Tullgren
08/12 – Rollinsford, NH @ Sue’s w/ Ovlov, Rick Rude & Greed Island
08/13 – Easthampton, MA @ Disappearing Mount w/ Ovlov, Rick Rude & Head Cinema

09/15 – Brooklyn, NY @ Sunnyvale w/ Patio, Ubetcha & Maneka (Album Release Show)

Much has changed in Washer’s corner of the DIY world since the release of Here Comes Washer. DIY venues like Shea Stadium and Palisades were shut down. Flagland (arguably the band’s biggest influence) called it quits. Things got dark, but there’s always hope. There are always reasons to push forward. Inspired by their peers and the strength of community in spite of opposition, Washer set out to make a more thoughtful, musically complex record with their sophomore album, All Aboard. Built from the heavier parts of personal life and the band’s minimalist dynamics, Mike Quigley (vocals/guitar/bass) and Kieran McShane (drums) leaned further on introspection than ever before.

Due out September 15th via Exploding In Sound Records, All Aboard is another vital dose of minimalist garage rock and fuzzy punk. Brooklyn’s scrappiest pair have done a lot of growing since forming in 2013, and so has their knack for writing clever songs that appear simple on the surface only to reveal complex layers with repeated listens. Their approach is loose and raw, capturing the energy of their live performances with a delicate balance of simplicity and deceptively bent pop anthems. Recorded and mixed by Nick Dooley(Flagland, Stove, Bethlehem Steel) at Gravesend Recordings (Silent Barn) in Brooklyn and The Barn in Panton, VT, All Aboard is a dark album for dark times, struggling with feelings of self-doubt and being generally “full of shit.” It’s not all gloom though, there’s a desire deep within to get better, a specter of light shinning through the shadows.

Washer took their time with All Aboard, allowing themselves more freedom in the songwriting  process as well as recording and mixing, adopting a more collaborative approach together with Dooley. Their mangled pop and primal punk remains as brilliant as ever, shimmering with detached hooks (“Forget Everything”), infectious pessimistic charm (“Your Guess Is As Bad As Mine”). slow building burners (“Feel It Coming On”), tangled structures (“Afraid To Care”), dark mounting tension (“The Scab”), and unpredictable dynamics (“Dog Go Bark”). All Aboard is radiant with inescapable melodies, unflinching purpose, and raw pop brilliance.


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.