News

Unsane share ‘Aberration” from new album Sterilize (29th Sept, Southern Lord); European tour dates shared

August 23, 2017

James Rexroad

 

Unsane share ‘Aberration” from new album Sterilize (29th Sept, Southern Lord); European tour dates shared

 

 The first audio insight into the new album from legendary noise rock group Unsane arrives with the premiere of “Aberration”.  According to the band, “Aberration is classic Unsane, raw and direct, it only took a couple of takes to lock it down. It’s essentially a ditty about the swirling thoughts that go through your head after being screwed over. I’m sure anyone can appropriate or relate it to their personal experiences.” The track is taken from their eighth studio album, and first for Southern Lord, Sterilize, incoming 29th Sept. Additionally, Unsane recently announced European tour dates in support of the album, taking place this October. Listen to the album track, check out the full dates and find more album details below…

ABERRATION LYRICS
Drained, let it all happen again
Grave, face it no matter the strain
The filth will win

A million times before
Had to keep it quiet
Never want for more
Set the trap and wait

Crazed, smash it all, throw it away
Played, cringing, mistakes were made
Can’t fail now

A million times before
Had to keep it quiet
Never want for more
Can’t do it

All on the make
Fits the pattern
In on the take
The real burn

Fake, couldn’t see past the game
Fate, hollow, there’s no escape
No use now

A million times before
Had to keep it quiet
Never want for more
The real burn

UNSANE TOUR DATES:
Thu 05/10/2017 CZ Prague Futurum
Fri 06/10/2017 PL Warsaw Hydrozagadka
Sat 07/10/2017 PL Wroclaw Carpe Diem
Sun 08/10/2017 DE Berlin Musik & Frieden
Mon 09/10/2017 Day off
Tue 10/10/2017 NO Oslo Blä
Wed 11/10/2017 SE Stockholm Kraken sthlm
Thu 12/10/2017 DK Copenhagen Loppen
Fri 13/10/2017 DE Hamburg Hafenklang
Sat 14/10/2017 BE Antwerp Desertfest
Sun 15/10/2017 FR Dunkerque Les 4Ecluses
Mon 16/10/2017 UK London The Dome
Tue 17/10/2017 FR Paris Petit bain
Wed 18/10/2017 FR Nevers Le Cafe Charbon
Thu 19/10/2017 FR Bordeaux Rockschool Barbey w/ Burning Heads
Fri 20/10/2017 FR Orleans Astrolabe w/ Burning Heads
Sat 21/10/2017 CH Winterthur Gaswerk
Sun 22/10/2017 Day off
Mon 23/10/2017 FR Lyon Epicerie Moderne
Tue 24/10/2017 FR Marseille La Razzle
Wed 25/10/2017 IT Milan Circolo Magnolia
Thu 26/10/2017 IT Giavera Del Montello Benicico Live gigs
Fri 27/10/2017 IT Rome Traffic Live Club
Sat 28/10/2017 Day off
Sun 29/10/2017 NL Amsterdam venue tba
Mon 30/10/2017 IT Umber tide (PG) Cinema Metropolis
Tue 31/10/2017 IT Napoli Scugnizzo Liberato
Wed 01/11/2017 IT Bologna Freakout Club
Thu 02/11/2017 IT Trieste Tetris Club
Fri 03/11/2017 AT Vienna Arena
Sat 04/11/2017 HUN Budapest Durer Kert
Sun 05/11/2017 HR Zagreb Vintage Industrial Bar
Mon 06/11/2017 SL Ljubljana Kino Siska
Tue 07/11/2017 AT Innsbruck PMK

 

Sterilize Track Listing:
1. Factory
2. The Grind
2. Aberration
4. No Reprieve
5. Lung
6. Inclusion
7. Distance
8. A Slow Reaction
9. We’re Fucked
10. Avail
  Since 1988, Unsane has been delivering caustic grooves and foundation-crumbling riffs. As a power trio, they have honed in on their hammering, power-press rhythm section, searing Telecaster howl, and distorted vocals that resemble a chainsaw cutting a steel beam.  The band’s gnarled blend of punk, metal, noise, and hardcore assisted in pioneering a more aggressive, less studied version of noise rock, one that blended the scum/art industrial sturm und drang of Foetus, the Swans, Einsturzende Neubauten, and Sonic Youth with a decidedly more straightforward hardcore idiom. While developing the blueprint for noise bands to follow, Unsane cut a remarkable swath through underground music, inspiring a devoted, cult-like following around the globe, and helped to define the “AmRep sound” alongside other forerunners of the style, Today Is The Day, The Jesus Lizard, Helmet, Tad, Cows, Halo Of Flies, and Melvins.
  Closing a five-year gap since the 2012 release of their Wreck LP through Alternative Tentacles, Unsane makes a vicious return with Sterilize, a record that recalls the most defining elements of the band’s seminal Scattered, Smothered, And Covered and Occupational Hazard albums, surging with the band’s unrelenting singular sound created by guitarist/vocalist Chris Spencer, bassist/vocalist Dave Curran, and drummer Vinnie Signorelli. Sterilize showcases the group sounding as dense and damaging as ever, and sees them remaining as necessary as ever, nearly three decades since they began.
Southern Lord will release Unsane’s Sterilize on September 29th, 2017.
Pre-orders for the album are now available including CD, LP and tshirt packages. Also via Apple Music/itunes
Monumental slabs of thundering bass driven walls of sound and the vicious sneering vocals of Chris Spencer that have lost none of their intensity over the years…the noise and devastatingly brutal guitar riffs and vocals are (unfeasibly) ramped up even further…I can’t remember a more gorgeously unpleasant experience. Absolutely essential.
– 10/10 LOUDER THAN WAR
http://www.unsanenyc.com

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.