Nick Cave’s ‘God Is In The House’ covered by the celebrated Steve Adey

August 4, 2017

Steve Adey


‘Do Me a Kindness’


Album released 4th August 2017 on Grand Harmonium Records

Stream Adey’s cover of Nick Cave’s ‘God Is In The House’ HERE  

Steve Adey’s third studio album, ‘Do Me a Kindness’, will be released on the 4th August 2017, via Grand Harmonium Records. The album contains nine cover songs plus an adaptation of a poem by Hermann Hesse. The album marks Steve’s first release in four years, following on from the critically acclaimed ‘The Tower of Silence’ (The Sunday Times ‘Album of the week’). The album will be available on CD, vinyl and digital download.

‘Do Me a Kindness’ was recorded in a 19th century Edinburgh church, with further tracking and mixing at Steve’s home studio utilising mostly vintage equipment. “I entered the studio (actually a church building) with 18-20 ideas, unformed and embryonic: it’s the same approach I’ve used for a while whereby the record takes on its own trajectory. We tried many variations of the songs and numerous musicians, mostly playing together in the room with warts and all.

The album was initially intended as an EP: a creative left turn (or escape) from writing and recording LP3 – a work in progress self-penned album of all original material. Alas, over a year, four songs in a week spiralled into ten! “I wanted the recording to sound immediate, especially the vocal where I was going for single takes. Much of what we kept was a mistake or something totally unintentional.”


Helena (MacGilp) assembled a six-piece vocal group for several songs on the album. “It was about feel and singing along rather than figuring out complicated harmonies. On ‘God Is in the House’, I wanted the sound of a congregation singing, gathered around, with Helena’s vocal recorded from the spire – that’s how we got the long, haunting reverb.”

Mixing and tracking in isolation lasted several months. “I had a Mellotron, Moog pedal board, and an array of vintage outboard: it was where the record found its own sonic identity. I wanted to experiment with cutting/pasting and editing in the studio.”


No computers were used during the recording and mixing process. “I don’t want to be the guy who strums along to the song book doing a karaoke version. How could I turn these songs inside out – but still retain the core of what makes them great!? I think it was (Brian) Eno that said In art you can crash a plane and walk away. ”…” (laughing)…  “I don’t know, it felt personal, you know, which is ironic.”

About Steve Adey:

Steve was born in Birmingham, England. He lived in NYC for several years before moving to Edinburgh, UK. He previously worked as a recording engineer on genres from Heavy Rock to Classical and Folk.


His debut album ‘All Things Real ‘was released in 2006 via Grand Harmonium Records. The album was well received by the music press.

In 2007, Steve played several festivals and released ‘Burning Fields’, a limited 7” and ‘Mississippi: Remixed’ [EP], featuring remixes from Kramer (Second Shimmy, Low) and Sweet Billy Pilgrim amongst others. A five-song EP entitled ‘These Resurrections’ was released on 9th May 2011.


‘The Tower of Silence’, the follow-up to ‘All Things Real’, was released in 2012. It is a subtly beautiful record encompassing a myriad of emotions, with The Sunday Times commenting, “Every second of his music matters. There isn’t a single strum or pluck that isn’t giving 110%.”


1.     The Unsigned Painting/Sense of Doubt – Rickie Lee Jones, David Bowie

2.     The Devil – P J Harvey

3.     Everyday Is Like Sunday – Morrissey

4.     To Cry About – Mary Margaret O’Hara

5.     God Is in the House – Nick Cave

6.     I Want You – Bob Dylan

7.     Over – Portishead

8.     Murderer – Low

9.     How Heavy the Days – Hermann Hesse, Steve Adey

10.   River Guard – Smog

Steve Adey recorded, produced and played all instruments except:

Jonathan Whitefield Green – trumpet (1,2,4,6,7)
Dougie Hudson – percussion (1,4,6,7,10)
Doug MacDonald – guitars (except 9)
Helena MacGilp – voice
Ismael Florit – bass (6)
Izabela Kalka – saxophone (6)
Atzi Muramatsu – cello (9)
Peter Strandberg – acoustic guitar (9)
Anne Borthwick, Chris Elmes, Andrew MacIntyre, Ewan McClure, Fiona McCrindle,

Carole McMurray – group vocals (3, 5, 6, 10) 

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.