LAUCAN Shares ‘Molten Silver’ From Debut album, FramesPerSecond due 21st July via Sunday Best

July 5, 2017


Shares ‘Molten Silver

Debut album, FramesPerSecond
due 21st July via Sunday Best

Live dates inc. Deershed Festival, Moseley Festival

Following the success of his debut EP, Up Tomorrow, new Sunday Best signing LAUCAN will release his debut album, FramesPerSecond, which will be available 21st July via the label.

Laucan has shared ‘Molten Silver‘, the b-side of current single, ‘Wait For The Impact‘. He says of it, “‘One weekday afternoon a long time ago I fell asleep while playing Bomberman64, a long time before that, I woke up in the middle of the night on a trampoline in the sussex downs. Molten Silver came somewhere in between while I slept”

When Lewes-raised newcomer Laucan began singing in falsetto after the break-up of his old band, he had his reasons. “I didn’t want anyone hearing my songs through the door of my room,” recalls Laurence Galpin, the man who is Laucan (pronounced Lor-can). The falsetto holds firm but the reluctance to be heard is changing with the arrival of the 27-year-old’s debut album, FramesPerSecond. Building on the promise of his debut EP, ‘Up Tomorrow’, Frames sets impressionist lyrical images and heart-in-mouth reveries on innocence lost to sublime music: poised between spectral folk and immersive soundscapes, it’s the sound of a singer who found something special in his attic-based isolation.

The sense of an artist readying himself to face the world registers on the opener, ‘Wait for the Impact’, where reverberant guitars and surround-sound atmospherics suggest a swelling anxiety. But doors open on ‘Up Tomorrow’. “Sunlight pours through the doorway, picks out patterns on the floor,” sings Galpin, his hypnotic falsetto taking wing over a fertile bedding of looping guitars, synths, strings, tender percussion and bird song.

With Andrew Phillips of Ninja Tune post-rock duo Grasscut as a collaborator, Galpin composes with a cinematic auteur’s sense of shading and world-building and a flair for sound art that evokes a sense of environment. This shows on the Nick Drake-does-Radiohead-ish ‘I Want Out’, where hypnotic percussion and a coaxing cello accompany reflections on a theme of retreat: “Running away from the sound, disappear into the ground…”

His sense of counterpoint sharp, Galpin makes splendid isolation sound inviting. The haunting reverie of ‘In Between’ seeks relief from the noise of modern life, where “articulated lorries antagonise cracks in our walls”. On the autumnal ‘Just Off the Old Kent Road’, Galpin tugs you into a hymnal reflection on a bygone London. ‘You Give Way’ recounts creative anxieties, before ‘Miss Mistiness’ recalls a trip to the Hebrides and resolves those anxieties – at least briefly – in a luminescent melody. On ‘Symptom’, he sings of walls made “out of stone to keep me on my own”. But there’s nothing stone-y about the song’s open emotions, or about the childhood recollections of ‘The Tree (Came Down)’, the album’s heart-rending closer.

Laucan has a number of upcoming live dates in May as well as performances at the Deer Shed and Moseley Folk Festivals. Upcoming UK live info below:

Tuesday 18th July – The Lexington London

Friday 21st July – Deer Shed Festival, Topcliffe
Saturday 2nd September –  Moseley Folk Festival, Birmingham
Thursday 7th September – Bestival, Dorset

FramesPerSecond will be released 21st July via Sunday Best.
FramesPerSecond tracklisting:
1. Wait For The Impact
2. Up Tomorrow
3. I Want Out
4. Just Off The Old Kent Road
5. In Between
6. FramesPerSecond
7. You Give Way
8. Miss Mistiness
9. Symptom
10. The Tree (Came Down)

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.