Canadian band Belle Game announce new album with first single

July 18, 2017


“Lo’s voice is an expansive, powerful instrument that demands to be noticed”  – Pitchfork
“Reminisces upon youthful encounters with narcissism, codependency and habitual lies” – Rolling Stone
Known for their unique ability to weave ethereal soundscapes into blown-out, crush-pop confections, Vancouver’s Belle Game announce their sophomore album ‘Fear/Nothing‘ slated for release on 28th September on Arts & Crafts. Produced by Dave Hamelin (The Stills) and executive producer Kevin Drew (Broken Social Scene), the 10-track collection is filled with lush compositions, led by the powerful and hypnotic vocals of Andrea Lo. Today, the band shares the dynamic first single ‘Spirit‘ – available today with all digital retailers.

About the track, Lo comments, “’Spirit’ was created through the relinquishing of logic, allowing the music to take form through feeling with no end goal as opposed to structural forms. It’s the result of letting ourselves be playful, youthful and in joy, having no consequence or imposed judgment for what we created in that moment.”
‘Fear/Nothing‘ combines the sweeping synth-driven dream pop of the Cocteau Twins with confident vocal-driven melodies of genre-defying artists like Empress Of and Jessy Lanza. From hushed anthems to distorted instrumentals, Belle Game teeters between two worlds. Whatever the mood, it’s always a celebration of the hard times and a refusal of fear.
Upon the release of their debut album ‘Ritual Tradition Habit’, the band earned critical praise from the likes of Rolling Stone and Pitchfork, while their emotional live performances prompted Paste Magazine to name them one of the “10 Great New Bands of CMJ”. After performing at number of US festivals this summer, Belle Game will hit the road for a full North American tour as lead support for Broken Social Scene in September, with UK and European dates to be announced soon.
“Fear/Nothing celebrates the bond between our best and worst. What we hate most in ourselves, our unchangeable aspects versus who we hope to be, and who we really are. It’s about numbness, exhaustion, tenacity, hope and fear. It’s a noisy basement, the places that gather light and the places that gather dark. A collection of shame and stillness. Guitars, keys, drums, vocals. It’s our personal dare to fear nothing and whatever you hear too.” – Belle Game
Fear/Nothing Tracklist
1. Shine
2. Spirit
3. Up Again
4. Yuh
5. Bring Me
6. Low
7. High
8. I Want Nothing
9. Oh Why
10. Spaces

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.