NYC band Rips share new single, ‘Losing II’ – Self-titled debut LP out now on Faux Discx

June 20, 2017


Self-titled debut album out now on Faux Discx

Listen to new single, “Losing II


“This is wiry, laconic New York art-rock… Rips don’t write choruses so much as catchy put-downs.” – Uncut, 7/10

“A jaunty, summertime rock’n’roll record that musically always keeps its focus” – Q Magazine, 4/5

Brooklyn based Rips have quickly built a reputation amongst NYC showgoers, winning them over with their virtuous melodies and sheer ferocity amidst an endless flurry of shows. Their songs may channel late ’70s New York City bands like Television and The Feelies, but Rips propels these references into something new. Their self-titled debut, produced by Austin Brown of Parquet Courts, is eleven tracks of buzzing guitar riffs driven by a charged rhythm section, all set under lyrics that are actually worth a damn.

Rips (the record) takes cues from the moonlighting era of rock, while delivering a set of songs distinctly fit for the modern age. Once described as a “hyperreal rock n’ roll group”, the phrase “borne forward ceaselessly into the future” is more what they’re going for here.

So break an old habit. Let your hair down (or up). Rips will take you there.




1. Losing II
2. Malibu Entropy
3. Break
4. No More
5. Damaged
6. Save Room
7. Delay
8. VS.
9. Psychics
10. Magnatone
11. Spell
12. Losing

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.