THE TRAVELLING BAND share ‘Into The Water’ + announce forthcoming album ‘SAILS’ due 25th August via Sideways Saloon/Kartel Music Group

May 14, 2017




  Honeyed harmonies and reverb-soaked guitars” – Drowned in Sound
“They produce an inventive brand of guitar-laden cosmic aesthetic and sprinkles of trademark Manchester’s musical lineage” Clash
“Their harmonies are tight, guitar picking deft and tunes melodic” Q Magazine
“It’s all here – passionate yet delicate vocals, deep forceful drumming, jangly guitar, fluctuating strings – everything you could ask for from a song that oozes summer”The 405
Manchester’s The Travelling Band have announced their forthcoming album, ‘SAILS’, due 25th August 2017 via Sideways Saloon Records/Kartel. The first taste of SAILS comes in the shape of the single, ‘Into The Water’, which serves as an introduction to a new, more expansive approach from the Manchester five-piece.

‘Into the Water’ is an autobiographical transatlantic love song, as Jo Dudderidge (vocals, guitar) explains: “I wrote it at a time when I was in a long distance, open relationship with a lover who was living in New York while I was in England. It’s a desperate love letter. I was willing to do anything to make it work.”

Focused around the songwriting talents and production skills of Jo Dudderidge and Adam Gorman and the rhythmic driving force of enigmatic drummer Nick Vaal, The Travelling Band have been quietly honing what Marc Riley described as “Mancunian Americana”. ‘SAILS’ mines a rich seam of influences, with key album track ‘Last Night I Dreamt (of Killing You)’ and the grungy ‘Wasted Eyes’ highlighting the band’s love of American indie rock, but still with that Mancunian twist nodding to Elbow and I Am Kloot. ‘Mopping Forwards’ draws on their time spent in East Nashville and the almost Satie-like melancholic ballad ‘Loser’ belies the darker turn that Jo and Adam’s lyrics have taken. The album’s title is taken from a lyric in the closing song, ‘Leftover Lines’: “I thought you were looking for a breath to fill your sails.

The striking artwork has been developed by London design house Nomad and is based on maritime signal flags (the International Code of Signals).

SAILS is due 25th August via Sideways Saloon Records/Kartel Music Group and available to pre-order via Music Glue:


About The Travelling Band:

The Travelling Band are a Manchester-based rock band. The core trio of Adam Gorman, Jo Dudderidge and Nick Vaal have been joined recently by Harry Fausing Smith (sax, violin, clarinet) and Sam Quinn (bass) after the departure of original members Mugger (guitar) and Spenny (bass). The line up is augmented by Chris Hillman (guitar and pedal steel) on their energetic live shows, which feature the dual lead vocals of Adam and Jo. The Travelling Band have released three critically lauded previous albums – Under the Pavement (2008), Screaming is Something (2011) and The Big Defreeze (2014) – they have performed at festivals such as Glastonbury (Other Stage/Park/Acoustic), Cropredy, Green Man, Festival No.6, Kendal Calling, End of the Road and Beautiful Days and spent much of 2016 touring Europe as Lissie’s backing band.

Sideways Saloon was set up by The Travelling Band for their first release, Under the Pavement, but is now spreading its wings, having released the solo debut from UK-based Canadian A. Dyjecinski, and with plans for further releases in the pipeline. This release also marks the start of a new label services and marketing relationship with Kartel Music Group.

SAILS Tracklist:

1. Moments Like Switches
2. Wasted Eyes
3. Into the Water
4. Mopping Forwards
5. Loser
6. Unlike You
7. Last Night I Dreamt (of Killing You)
8. Out of the Water
9. Failure is a Bastard
10. Leftover Lines



You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.