Daddy Issues Get “Locked Out” on Stereogum – Debut LP Deep Dream Out May 19, 2017 via Infinity Cat

April 27, 2017

Kelsey Hall

Daddy Issues Get “Locked Out” on Stereogum
Debut LP Deep Dream Out May 19, 2017 via Infinity Cat

Nashville, TN three-piece indie grunge band Daddy Issues are ready for summer flings with the release of their new single “Locked Out” today via Stereogum. The track is from their debut LP, Deep Dream, which will arrive May 19th, 2017 via Infinity Cat. Pre-order for the album is now available from Infinity Cat.

Daddy Issues recently wrapped up several months of non-stop touring, supporting Tacocat on their West Coast tour and Diet Cig on their album release tour, as well as appearances at Savannah Stopover and SXSW. The last track released from Deep Dream, the powerful “I’m Not” premiered on NPR and drew on the band member’s own experiences with sexual abuse and assault. It’s the song the band’s members wish they had when growing up, in order to start a discussion around living through the experiences and the alienation they felt as a result.

By comparison, “Locked Out” is a very lighthearted single, inspired by “a summer fling that didn’t last any longer than pool season,” according to singer/guitarist Jenna Moynihan. However, as Stereogum notes, the slow-burning grunge jam still manages to “emphasize her alienation is painful and real.”

Track Listing:
01) Mosquito Bite
02) In Your Head
03) Lemon
04) High Street
05) Dog Years
06) Boring Girls
07) Locked Out
08) I’m Not
09) Boys of Summer
10) Dandelion

Biography:When singer and guitarist Jenna Moynihan saw the phrase “Daddy Issues” scribbled on the bathroom wall of a now-defunct Nashville DIY venue, she mistakenly assumed it was the name of an all-girl punk outfit sure to become her next favorite band. Upon realizing that no such band existed, Moynihan and friends Emily Maxwell (drums) and Jenna Mitchell (bass) picked up their instruments, taught themselves how to play and started their own band. Three years later, Daddy Issues are gearing up to release their full-length vinyl debut Deep Dream, out 5/19 via Infinity Cat Recordings.

The band originally caught Infinity Cat’s eye after tastemaker Casey Weissbuch offered the trio a spot on the cassette series he curates for the label, which has hosted releases from artists like Rozwell Kid, Colleen Green and Guerrilla Toss over its three-year history. Days after submitting their tape in the summer of 2015, the band signed to Infinity Cat as official artists, releasing a 7″ split with Louisville band White Reaper later that year. Shortly thereafter, the band started work on Deep Dream with producer and label owner Jake Orrall (JEFF The Brotherhood, Colleen Green). Combining the sounds of ’80s alternative, ’90s grunge and ’00s pop, Daddy Issues tackle the difficulties of friendship, heartbreak, mental health, sexual assault and a number of other issues that come with the package of youth in the modern world.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.