Flowers Must Die share second single “After Gong” from forthcoming album!

March 14, 2017

Rocket Recordings to release new album Kompost from Flower Must Die

Listen to second single “After Gong”

Following last years sold out EP ‘Sista Valsen’ and debut UK shows including sets at Supernormal and Liverpool Psych Fest – the six-piece Swedish outfit, Flowers Must Die have a new album, Kompost to be released on 28 April via Rocket Recordings.

“The track originally had the working title “Efter Maten” (After Dinner), but we changed it to “After Gong”, to pay tribute to Gilli Smyth – Gong member who died of pneumonia around the time when we would name the song. It is a spacey, manic song with horns, and the most verse-chorus-based from Flowers Must Die so far.”  explains band member, Rickard Daun.

Flowers Must Die took their name originally from an Ash Ra Tempel song, and the krautrock influences of both the strains of Amon Düül II and the repetition of Can lurk within Kompost’s overgrown sonic pathways. Yet the album shows them honing their improvisatory excursions into coherent songcraft amidst spectral techno and cosmic disco shapes, as the angular post-punk pop of The Sugarcubes sits alongside the narcotic clangour of prime Royal Trux, and one-take spontaneity locks horns with nocturnal revelation.

Here the outward-looking spirit of 1971 and the anything-goes mentality of the Scandinavian freaks of yore is transposed elegantly to a modern era in need of new horizons, and in a manner refreshingly and paradoxically bereft of retro chic.

Watch the video to their first single, “Hit” HERE

The band are playing some shows to celebrate the launch of the album:

13 April / Kraken / Stockholm / Sweden
14 April / Crypt / Linkoping / Sweden
25 April / The Prince Albert / Brighton / UK
26 April / The Shacklewell Arms / London / UK
27 April / The Full Moon / Cardiff / UK
28 April / The Cube / Bristol / UK

01 – Källa Till Ovisshet
02 – Hit
03 – After Gong
04 – Why?
05 – Hej Då
06 – Don’t You Leave Me Now
07 – Hey, Shut Up
08 – Där Blommor Dör
09 – Svens Song

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.