ADVANCE BASE (Casiotone for the Painfully Alone) announces “In Bloomington” album, due 10th February on Tye Die Tapes

February 5, 2017


Announces ‘In Bloomington’ live album

Tye Die Tapes’ twentieth cassette release

Sheffield’s Tye Die Tapes are excited to announce their twentieth tape; “In Bloomington”, a live concert recording by a rare, full-band version of Owen Ashworth’s nostalgic, melancholic bedroom pop project, Advance Base. The cassette will be released on 10th February.

Calling in friends and collaborators from all over the US, Ashworth assembled a 6-piece band for two special concerts during the winter of 2015. Luckily, live engineer Andy Beargie secretly rolled tape on the final show at The Blockhouse in Bloomington, Indiana, and In Bloomington exists as the sole document of a truly awesome live band.

Drawing heavily from Advance Base’s previous two albums, A Shut-In’s Prayer (one of MOJO Magazine’s top 20 albums of 2012), and Nephew in the Wild (PopMatters’ #1 Indie Pop album of 2015), In Bloomington explodes the claustrophobia of Ashworth’s (mostly) solo, lo-fi, drum-machine-accompanied home recordings into something grand, human & joyous, captured in glorious high fidelity.

Set highlights include “The Only Other Girl from Back Home,” an autoharp-driven country ballad about two Michigan teenagers whose friendship is tested when they both get jobs at the same lousy restaurant; a loose and lively rendition of the torch song “Summer Music” (notable for its propellant rhythm section, shaking tambourines and snapping reverb springs); and a lap-steel-guitar-injected revival of “Bobby Malone Moves Home,” an old favourite from Ashworth’s former project, Casiotone for the Painfully Alone.



1. Christmas in Oakland
2. Trisha Please Come Home
3. Christmas in Dearborn
4. Pamela / Stairway to Heaven
5. The Only Other Girl from Back Home
6. Summer Music
7. My Sister’s Birthday
8. Bobby Malone Moves Home
9. Kitty Winn


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.