Feature, News

Western Daughter Announce New LP + Join Take This To Heart Records

January 21, 2017

Western Daughter Announce New LP, Debut First Single – “Exhibition On Main St.”

One of our most loved acts Western Daughter have one exciting year ahead. Having announced they’ve joined the incredible family of Take This To Heart Records, the band have also unveiled a new single which is streaming in full via GoldFlake PaintExhibition On Main St. is the first single from Western Daughter’s upcoming album entitled Driftwood Songs.

Boise, Idaho’s Western Daughter have been described as early Modest Mouse or Mt. Eerie, Western Daughter’s music feels heavily informed by—and inextricable from—its environment. In this case, the secretly beautiful Idaho—a state that wrongheadedly promotes its potatoes instead of its swaths of rugged, unspoiled wilderness.

Take This To Heart Records have described  Western Daughter’s forthcoming LP, Driftwood Songs,  as “a bigger record—the group have expanded their sonic palette considerably. Songs like opener Skinny Water and Pillars of Salt are buoyant indie rock anthems that highlight the band’s punk heritage. But Western Daughter have managed to make a more commercial record without forsaking the homespun charm and signature forlornness that made their early work so raw and alluring. This is best exemplified by tracks like the country-flecked Busy, Busy, Busy and slow-burning closer Control, which bridge this gap seamlessly. It’s territory that may not have been blazed by Western Daughter, but their unique perspective and commitment to honesty above everything else—a trait they share with both their country and emo forebears—make them invaluable occupants.”

Driftwood Songs will be released March 24th on 12″/CD/Digital via Take This To Heart Records

Pre-order “Driftwood Songs”:


Western Daughter – “Driftwood Songs”

Track Listing:
1. Skinny Water
2. Exhibition On Main St.
3. Pillars Of Salt
4. Busy, Busy, Bust
5. San Francisco
6. Driftwood Songs
7. You And Me, Unbound
8. When You Go Out Tonight
9. Control


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.