The Obsessives Announce Self-Titled LP, Tour With Modern Baseball – ‘The Obsessives’ Out March 17th on Lame-O Records

January 5, 2017

Jessica Flynn

The Obsessives Announce The Obsessives
Release Album Trailer 

Announce Tour With Modern Baseball, Kevin Devine and Sorority Noise

The Obsessives Out March 17th via Lame-O Records

The Obsessives will be releasing their sophomore album The Obsessives on March 17th via Lame-O Records. The band has released a trailer for the video featuring the intro song from their record. The video can be watched now via the Lame-O Records youtube channel. Pre-orders for The Obsessives and the first single from the album will be released on January 17th. You can sign up for notifications now on Lame-O Records webstore.

The Obsessives have also just announced they will be touring this spring with Modern Baseball, Kevin Devine and Sorority Noise. Tickets for this tour can be purchased here.

Watch the trailer for The Obsessives now!

Nick Bairatchnyi and Jackson Mansfield built The Obsessives at fifteen, out of a childhood friendship and a misplaced love for blues-rock. “We wanted to start a band with a “The” because bands like that three years ago were cool, like The Black Keys and The White Stripes,” Bairatchnyi remembers while laughing at his ninth-grade naivety. Three years later, the band became fixated on a new form.

The Obsessives released their debut record, Heck No, Nancy in 2015. The album chronicled a series of revelations which center around a musical mentality that volleys between the expressive texture of emo bands like Braid and the bouncy indie of bands like The Pixies and Violent Femmes.

On March 17th, 2017, The Obsessives will release their follow up self-titled album on Lame-O Records, continuing even further along their indie rock inspirations, the band has found an acclivity for pop hooks and vibrant instrumentation that give a nod to their heroes (even naming a song referencing listening to a Pixies record), while also fitting alongside the top artists of the modern indie/emo scene (like Modern Baseball, who’s tour they’ll be opening in the spring of 2017).

The Obsessives tracklist:
1. Intro
2. You’re My God
3. Surfer Rosa
4. Violent
5. A Shady Place
6. If You Really Love Me
7. Now She’s Smoking
8. It’s Not Fair
9. In Her Belly
10. It’s Okay If
11. He Is Wise
12. Sometimes
13. When One Thing Ends
14. You’re Gonna Be
The Obsessives
Website l Bandcamp l Facebook l Twitter l Instagram
Lame-O Records
Website l Bandcamp

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.