PINS announce new EP ‘Bad Thing’ released on 24th March

January 23, 2017


“Noise, power and melody; you can hear the ambition of a band on the brink of a major breakthrough” Q

“Terrific songwriting – a confident step forward” The Observer

“The welcome return of PINS” John Kennedy, Radio X

“The confident sound of a band exploring and developing” The Quietus

“Really fantastic. Love PINS” Lauren Laverne, 6Music

Manchester all-female five-piece PINS have announced a new EP Bad Thing, which will be released on 24th March through Haus Of Pins and features Aggrophobe, their forthcoming single with the legendary Iggy Pop.

Following the release of their acclaimed second album Wild Nights last year, PINS went back into the studio to work on new tracks. Recorded in a studio on the Scottish Borders last October and produced by Mark Vernon and the band themselves, the EP will feature 5 new tracks, which include a cover of Joy Division’s Dead Souls. It will be released as a download along with 500 limited edition 12” on Cadillac pink vinyl, which are available to pre-order from Haus of Pins. PINS say;

“We took all the gear we could possibly find, and locked ourselves away in the Scottish wilderness for a fortnight – expecting to do some demos, and coming away with an EP that we really loved. It was an immersive experience – there was no civilisation for miles around so we were free to make noise and experiment.”

“We had talked about doing a Joy Division cover – I think it was Faith who suggested Dead Souls. Because we were in a rickety cottage and not a studio there was no isolation – so when people were recording parts everyone else had to be super quiet.”

The EP opens with the teasing Bad Thing before moving into the addictive Aggrophobe, featuring Iggy Pop’s iconic vocal, leading onto the chant-like pop of All Hail and the dreamy and synth-laden In Nightmares, before ending with PINS own take on Dead Souls. The four new tracks are synonymous with PINS’ sound but also showcase a vigorous, more mature side to the band, making up a solid and impressive musical body of work. A teaser for the EP can be watched here EP Teaser.

The full tracklisting is as follows:

  1. Bad Thing
  2. Aggrophobe
  3. All Hail
  4. In Nightmares
  5. Dead Souls

New single Aggrophobe, which has already had support from 6Music and Radio X, is being released as a limited edition 7” yellow vinyl, numbered and signed by the band, with a B-side remix by fellow Mancunians Bernard & Edith. This has now sold out but the track will be available to stream and download on 31st January. A teaser for the track can be watched here – Aggrophobe Teaser.

The last two years have seen packed out touring schedules for the band, supporting the likes of Sleater-Kinney, Drenge, The Subways, Best Coast and most recently Honeyblood, aswell as perform their own headline gigs and shows at festivals including SXSW and Secret Garden Party. PINS recently announced a UK & European tour in March & April, which will commence in Berlin on 31st March and culminate in a hometown show in Manchester on Saturday 22nd April. Full tour dates are as follows:

Fri      31st     Berlin             Indie Kollektiv Karrera Klub @ Lido

Sat     1st       Hamburg       Motobooty Live @ Molotow
Mon   10th     Cardiff           The Moon Club
Tues    11th    Brighton        Rialto
Wed  12th      Oxford           The Bullingdon
Thurs   13th    Norwich        Arts Centre
Fri        14th   Glasgow       Broadcast
Sat     15th     Edinburgh     Sneaky Pete’s
Sun     16th    Dundee         Beat Generator Live
Mon   17th     Newcastle     Cluny 2
Tues    18th    Leeds           Headrow House
Wed  19th      London         Moth Club
Thurs   20th   Bedford         Esquires
Fri        21st    Leicester      The Cookie
Sat     22nd    Manchester   White Hotel

PINS are Faith Vern (vocals/guitar), Anna Donigan (bass), Lois Macdonald (guitar), Sophie Galpin (drums) and Kyoko Swan (keys, guitar).

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.