MARK EITZEL shares new track “An Answer”

January 13, 2017

MARK EITZEL shares new track “An Answer”

Announces Rough Trade East show

 New album due 27th January 2017 

Mark Eitzel has shared a beguiling new track from his upcoming new album,  Hey Mr Ferryman, which is due for release 27th January 2017. The track “An Answer” is described by Eitzel as a “goopy love song about dancing. In its history it has been called “There’s An Answer,” “There’s No Answer,” “Very Good At False Bravado,” “The Starting Gun,” “I’ll Go Easy” and I’ll Go Quiet.” Premiered yesterday on Stereogum, you can now listen via the link below…

MARK EITZEL – “An Answer”

As well as releasing the new track, Mark Eitzel has also announced two UK in-store shows at London Rough Trade East on Feb 13 and Rise Records in Bristol on March 5th. Beginning in Kilkenny on February 10, Eitzel will be bringing songs from his first solo album in five years all over the UK. Full dates + info below…

Saturday 4th March – BRIGHTON – Bleach
Sunday 5th March – BRISTOL – Fleece
Tuesday 7th March – LONDON – Bush Hall
Wednesday 8th March – SHEFFIELD – Greystones
Thursday 9th March – MANCHESTER – Deaf Institute
Friday 10th March – NEWCASTLE – Cluny
Saturday 11th March – HEBDEN BRIDGE – Trades Club

Sunday 12th March – GLASGOW – Stereo

Hey Mr Ferryman is Eitzel’s first full studio album recorded entirely in London. It was made at 355 Studios with Bernard Butler(ex-Suede, McAlmont & Butler), who has produced and/or recorded albums with Tricky, Ben Watt, Bert Jansch, Edwyn Collins, and more. Butler produced Hey Mr Ferryman and played all of the electric guitar, bass, and keyboard parts on the album.

Hey Mr Ferryman features the vivid melodies long associated with Eitzel’s former band American Music Club—which remains a cult favourite to this day—as well as Butler’s distinctive guitar that serves to complement Eitzel’s expressive vocals. Of that voice, Pitchfork once wrote: “If Leonard Cohen’s voice is a story about the passage of time and Levon Helm’s is a story about losing what is most precious to you, Eitzel’s is about the circuitous roads we take in search of ourselves.”

Pre-order Hey Mr Ferryman now on CD and LP in the decor store. There is a limited edition of the LP on 180gram vinyl with a 12 track bonus cd of unreleased tracks, demos and alternative recordings to those on the final lp. The normal LP will include two digital bonus tracks. The album can also be pre-ordered via your favorite digital outlet. 

Hey Mr Ferryman tracklisting:
1. The Last Ten Years
2. An Answer
3. The Road
4. Nothing And Everything
5. An Angel’s Wing Brushed The Penny Slots
6. In My Roll as Professional Singer and Ham
7. Mr Humphries
8. La Llorana
9. Just Because
10. Let Me Go
11. Sleep From My Eyes

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.