LYDIA AINSWORTH announces new album, Darling of the Afterglow, due 31st March on Bella Union

January 11, 2017

John Michael Fulton


Announce new album, Darling of the Afterglow
Due 31st March on Bella Union

Shares video for first single, “The Road“, via NPR

Today, Toronto-based artist, composer and producer Lydia Ainsworth announces her sublime second album, Darling of the Afterglow. The album will be released through Bella Union on March 31st, 2017 – pre-order vinyl, CD and digital copies HERE.

The breathtaking first single, as well as its equally gorgeous music video, is also available now. Watch “The Road,” directed by Lydia’s sister Abby Ainsworth, HERE via NPR Music. Album art by Tonje Thilesen and tracklisting can be found below.

Darling of the Afterglow is Lydia Ainsworth’s sophomore record and follow up to the Juno-nominated and critically acclaimed Right From Real (2014). The album features a team of local Toronto musicians, woven into Ainsworth’s programming, samples and string arrangements. “I usually have to be out of my element to get that spark of inspiration,” she says of songwriting. The songs on Darling of the Afterglow were all begun away from home, before being brought to fruition in her hometown.

Mixing yearning pop with other-worldly synthetic sounds, plush classical settings and weird-gothic R&B influences, Lydia Ainsworth’s new album is a richly imagined, richly felt work of future-pop classicism: an album of intimate emotions projected in heightened widescreen. The stunning, 11-track Darling of the Afterglow – from the lush lullaby of “Afterglow,” to the immersive “Into The Blue,” to the masterful cover of Chris Isaak’s “Wicked Game” – showcases a great leap forward from Right from Real’s already prodigious experi-pop riches.

Watch this space for more on Lydia Ainsworth and Darling of the Afterglow:


1. The Road
2. What Is It?
3. Ricochet
4. Afterglow
5. Open Doors
6. Spinning
7. Into The Blue
8. Wicked Game
9. I Can Feel It All
10. WLCM
11. Nighttime Watching

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.