The Dears Return With New Album Times Infinity Volume One – Out February 3 2017

December 1, 2016


The Dears Return With New Album 

Times Infinity Volume One – Out February 3 2017

UK Tour Incl. London Village Underground – February 28 2017

The Dears have announced the release of their sixth studio album, Times Infinity Volume One, due out on February 3, 2017through Dangerbird Records. The record will arrive just ahead of the Montréal band’s first UK tour in six years- a 4 date run culminating in a London Village Underground show on February 28, 2017. The band are trailing the announcement with new track ‘I Used To Pray For The Heavens To Fall’ – listen here.

Times Infinity Volume One is the first instalment of a two-album body of work, composed by the band over a two-year period, later recorded at sessions between Toronto’s Revolution Recording and Montréal’s Thee Mighty Hotel2Tango. With Times Infinity Volume Two slated for release in summer 2017, frontman Murray A. Lightburn says of the joint project: “Putting these two records together was like solving a puzzle: Volume One was about finding the edge pieces while Volume Two was about the middle pieces. It was very difficult to wrap one’s head around at first, but by the end of production, it just became easier and easier. It’s a metaphor for life, and our life’s story.”

The Dears emerged out of the early Noughties Canadian indie renaissance, cementing their orchestral-pop-noir sound with celebrated debut album End of a Hollywood Bedtime Story, in 2000. In 2001 and 2002, they released the EPs Orchestral Pop Noir Romantique and Protest, as well as a collection of unreleased songs, Nor the Dahlias. In 2003 they released their second full-length album No Cities Left, and a string of highly anticipated shows at SxSW ‘04 launched their international career. Gang of Losers was released in 2006, was well received by the press, and was shortlisted for the Polaris Music Prize. A tumultuous transitory period followed. The Dears emerged, stolid, with another meticulously crafted classic, Missiles in 2008, and later 2011’s Degeneration Street.


  1. We Lost Everything
  2. I Used To Pray For The Heavens To Fall
  3. To Hold And Have
  4. You Can’t Get Born Again
  5. Times Infinity 1
  6. Here’s To The Death Of All The Romance
  7. Someday All This Will Be Yours
  8. Face Of Horrors
  9. Hell Hath Frozen In Your Eyes
  10. Onward And Downward

Pre-order the album here

UK Tour

24 February CARDIFF The Globe 

25 February BRISTOL The Fleece 

26 February LEEDS The Brudenell 

28 February LONDON Village Underground

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.