GREAT YTENE share new song ‘Wanness’, taken from debut album Locus, due 17th February 2017 on Faux Discx + UK live dates

December 7, 2016


Share new song, ‘Wanness’
Taken from the new album, Locus
Due 17th February 2017 via Faux Discx

Great Ytene have unveiled ‘Wanness‘, a second single from their upcoming debut album, Locus, due in February on Brighton’s Faux Discx. The Line of Best Fit says of the track, “Dark, driving, and flooded with distortion, “Wanness” rages with a ceaseless momentum primed and raring on the edge of exhilaration.”

The band’s Leon Diaper explains, “It’s a track immersing itself in times past and present of unhappiness and fatigue, an underlining theme I seem to carry when writing lyrics for our tracks. But the track is pretty upbeat and pumping in sound and one of our favorites to play live.”

The band have also announced an album release show in London on 17th February:

Friday 9th December – Brighton – The Prince Albert
Friday 17th February – London – The Lexington *Album Release Show*

Great Ytene are a band built upon deconstruction and reassembly. In order to create something that felt truly complete, they had to tear down everything that had come before. From their formative years as ‘Colours’, to their reemergence as Great Ytene (taking their name from an old term for the New Forest, which is where they all grew up), they replaced sounds, members and even their name before they felt truly comfortable in their collective skin.

So, it’s quite fitting that In 2015 Great Ytene lost a full album’s worth of material to a technological worm hole. It was just another clean slate. It was the best thing that could have happened. The band spent six months writing new songs, perfecting their shape, pulling them apart and piecing them back together until Locus was in exactly the right place.

Locus, Great Ytene’s first full length LP since their self- titled debut (via Bella Union) in 2014, sees the band moving forward to explore darker themes. The name ‘Locus’ refers to the attempt to pin-point exact moments in time when an event took place. This idea is explored lyrically throughout the album, even as the music loops and pushes back.

If you are looking for like-minded contemporary peers then look no further than the grey and black post-punk of the likes of Disappears and Preoccupations. At times waves of noise are underpinned by tight, rigid rhythms, at others they’re allowed to spill over the edges to create disquiet landscapes.

The album was recorded and mixed in East London at Holy Mountain with producer and long-time collaborator Iggy B, mixed by MJ (Hookworms) at Suburban Home Studios in Leeds & mastered by Joe Caithness of Subsequent Mastering. It’s released via Faux Discx on February 17, 2017.

“Great Ytene make their psych dreamy and mesmeric, so much so, in fact, that they make explicit the influence of psychedelia on krautrock, shoegaze and baggy” The Guardian

“Now they’re ready to return with something quite different. The noise-pop outfit have wiped the slate clean, opting for something packed with rather more ‘noise’ and rather less ‘pop’.” – Clash

“Great Ytene is a charmingly messy concoction of measured swirling guitars, endearingly floaty vocals and controlled noise.” – The 405

“their new material is a thrilling freefall through post-punk packing a punch that’s sure to leave you reeling.” – The Line of Best Fit

1. Mono Aware
2. George Street
3. Cruel Desires
4. Locus
5. Wanness
6. Electric Pulses
7. Fixed Victim
8. Physical Warmth
9. Appetite


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.