PVT announce new album ‘New Spirit’ due Feb 17th via Felte- First single ‘Morning Mist, Rock Island Bend’ online now! 

November 7, 2016
Mclean Stephenson

Mclean Stephenson



Sydney-based trio PVT return with news of their forthcoming album ‘New Spirit‘, due Feb 17th via Felte. Combining ambient electronica, warped vocals and an industrial charge that runs throughout, the first single, ‘Morning Mist, Rock Island Bend‘, from the new record is online now.

Filmed in Australia, the ‘Morning Mist, Rock Island Bend‘, video sets to highlight some of the political themes present in PVT’s new album.

Director Mclean Stephenson explains ‘This video is about the spiritual ruination of a nobody.  A beaten person.  A man who couldn’t even get a seat at a support group meeting.  So he moves to the bush.  And he decides to dress like a bush.  And eat animal food.  And erase himself.  And in the depths of his erasure he encounters a new hope.  He soon becomes a spirit of the bush.  A spirit of the bushland night sky.  And he soars through the trees and over the trees.  And he is a Phoenix and a guardian of places without postcodes.  A new spirit.’

The band added “The title ‘Morning Mist, Rock Island Bend’ comes from the name of a landscape photo by the Australian photographer Peter Dombrovskis depicting a bend in the Franklin River in Tasmania. The photo was successfully used in a 1983 campaign against the intended destruction of large areas of national forest by the government of the day.

Our hope was to examine one of the large elephants that appears to be in Australia’s living room at the moment.” 

According to recently signed Secretly Canadian musician Alex Cameron, PVT are international, though they’re known as Pivot to anyone in the know. They’re  an act that’s embraced technology at every turn – gritty, new, confronting – and their uncompromised songwriting and musical understanding have seen their first four albums released to global acclaim. They’ve been all over, both on their own steam and in the support of acts like The Arctic Monkeys, Gary Numan, Warpaint, Bloc Party, and Gotye. After years of touring the band wound up cast far and wide residing each in a different continent. Men of the world. Seasoned campaigners.

2017 sees members Dave Miller along with brothers Richard & Laurence Pike return home, with their fifth album. Ask em why it was so long between drinks? They’ll tell it’s you none of your business. Ask what brought the three of them back together and they’ll say the same thing.  Though one listen to their latest album ‘New Spirit’ suggests a compass-directed hometown reunion, in what has become a hotbed for political and cultural intolerance:  The New Australia.

This album contains that beautiful type of music written out of compulsion.  Out of need.  No label saying “we need album five” just a calling and an impulse to explore the new place that Australia has become. Australia. The sun comes in hot down here. Casting long, long, shadows. The lucky country has succumbed to divisive politics and irrational fear. Obvious fraud and immorality driven by a gutless media and an indifferent public. But on the fringe there is a new movement. One that’s gathering steam. It’s hopeful. Beautiful. Confronting in its peaceful spirit.

This is PVT’s home town and they’re back to set things straight.

PVT have been in an on going scrap with their status for years. Their uncompromising approach to musical self-determination has seen them battling labels, trends and sometimes their own audience. Chin-scratching white men with dreadlocks. Warp records disciples. They’ve come away veterans, masters in a precise, musical, and beautiful violence. But the content, the meaning,has never been this sharp, and especially never this political.

The new album once again sees frontman Richard Pike tussle with his boundaries, and he certainly isn’t afraid to go to the mats. The sound of the record itself is that of a stark digital future, but under the surface there’s a nostalgia for a different time, another way of thinking, another life. These are guys who do what they want, because they can, because they’re that good. PVT are exploring. Expanding on expectations. They carry with them the bravery and courage of the old explorer with the tolerance and understanding of the new. And they want you to join them.

Why step forward? Why continue to grow?

For progress. For the future. For a different way. For something new. Something exciting. Something in spite of the old. New Spirit.

You can pre-order New Spirit now at felte’s webstore here.

‘New Spirit’ artwork:

‘New Spirit’ track list:

01. Spirit Of The Plains
02. A Feeling You Can Find
03. Salt Lake Heart
04. Interlude
05. Another Life
06. Fool in Rain II
07. Morning Mist, Rock Island Bend
08. Kangaroo
09. Murder Mall
10. New Spirit
11. Fake Sun In China


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.