Yip Man shares new video “Skinny White Ghost” from debut album, Braw Power out 11th November 2016

October 10, 2016

Braw Power V4 12OuterSleeve-3mmSpine

Yip Man shares new video “Skinny White Ghost” from debut album, Braw Power
out 11th November 2016

“Laced with a Weezer-esque sense of fun, big riffs and appreciation of guitar pop… a delight” – CMU

“Fiercesome Powerpop” – Vic Galloway (BBC Radio Scotland)

Armellodie Records is proud to present Braw Power, the debut album from Yip Man of Scotland, released on 11th November 2016 (LP, CD and download).

Yip Man is the alter-ego of Scottish songwriter Al Nero, the former frontman of blissful guitar slingers Le Reno Amps and the co-founder of Glasgow’s Armellodie Records. Since Le Reno Amps bowed out in 2011 one might be forgiven for thinking that outside of co-running Armellodie Nero has been somewhat idle.  In truth he has been undergoing metamorphosis. He’s been away.  Al Nero went to China… Yip Man came back.

Nero explains, “I lived in Foshan, China for a few years and that’s where I wrote most of the album, ‘Braw Power’. It was an amazing place and culture to experience so vividly. As a peely-wally lanky Scotsman there, the Cantonese slang for foreigner, ‘gwai lo’, was often bandied around by the locals wherever I ventured. It roughly translates to ‘white ghost’. After I had written the song, that particular little colloquialism seemed a good fit for the title. The video itself is made up from various snippets of footage, a montage if you like, of the time I spent out there, shot by myself and some friends.”

From the explosion of the lop-sided opener “Barnburner” and the synth-riddled rocking of “Not That Easy”, to the Calypso carnival of “For Your Own Good” and Pavement-esque brain-rockin’ of “Skinny White Ghost”. The songs on Braw Power find Nero lyrically and poetically tackling his own existential ennui, whilst sounding like a man who just found the last Golden Ticket in his Wonka Bar.

There is a world-weary sarcasm in the lyrics, a black humour, and sometimes a barely withheld anger. This creeps into the music as well, and we start to hear dissonance, unusual rhythms and chromatic melody upsetting and mutating the kind of songs that might otherwise have had something of the simplicity of the Ramones.

With grand ambitions tempered by a homely charm, you can be sure that whatever life throws at Yip Man, he’ll bat it straight back with his killer hooks.

Check out the videos to album tracks, “Silver Wings” and “Not That Easy”.

photo credit: Cheryl McCann


Braw Power Tracklisting:
1. Barnburner
2. Not That Easy
3. In The Book
4. Crying Thunderstorms
5. Kings and Queens
6. Stuck on Repeat
7. For Your Own Good
8. Silver Wings
9. Skinny White Ghost
10. This Girl I’m Bound
11. Taxi
12. It’s About Time We Stopped

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.