WOODPIGEON Announces European Tour & Reveals video for “Fence”

October 22, 2016


Announces European Tour
Reveals video for “Fence”
Filmed on the Day of the Dead 2015 in Guanajuato, Mexico by Tyler McGrath
Watch here –
Album T R O U B L E  out now via wiaiwya
European Tour Dates
22 October 2016 NO IDLE DAY FESTIVAL | Dublin, IE
27 October 2016 HUIS HANNELORE | Ghent, BE
29 October 2016 HUIS DE MAESSCHALCK | Moerbeke-Waas, BE
02 November 2016 SIEGESSÄULE LOUNGE – MONARCH | Berlin, DE
03 November 2016 VALENTIN STÜBERL NEUKÖLN | Berlin, DE
05 November 2016 DER STANDARD – IN SESSION | Vienna, AT
08 November 2016 WUK | Vienna, AT *
18 November 2016 AUTUMN LEAVES FESTIVAL | Graz, AT
19 November 2016 UNION CHAPEL – Daylight Music (12-2pm) | London, UK
20 November 2016 THE BETSEY TROTWOOD | London, UK
22 November 2016 THE WASHINGTON | Sheffield, UK
24 November 2016 SUMMERHALL | Edinburgh, UK $
25 November 2016 THE ELM HOUSE | Craigrothrie, UK +
* w/ John Grant
$ w/ Modern Studies
+ w/ Ben Seal
Earlier this year, Canadian musician Woodpigeon, a.k.a. Mark Andrew Hamilton released T R O U B L E, his best album to date. He returns for some European dates in November, including a show with John Grant in vienna and is heading to the UK for live shows including an afternoon slot at Daylight Music at the Union Chapel on 19 November and a show at last ever Hangover Lounge at the Betsey Trotwood on Sunday 20 November. He also heads to Sheffield, Edinburgh and Craigrothrie.
Woodpigeon revealed a video for the track “Fence“, which was made by Tyler McGrath in Guanajuato, Mexico for last year’s Day of the Dead. As the festival approaches again, here’s a glimpse in to one of Mexico’s most intriguing rituals, set to Woodpigeon’s gorgeously mesmerising track.
From director Tyler McGrath:
“The funny thing about the film is that I went to Guanajuato, MX to film the Day of the Dead festival but didn’t end up filming it. So it felt like shooting a film in Paris but not showing the Eiffel tower. The streets were too crowded and the parade was moving too fast for me to setup for a proper shot. So instead during my time there, I just responded to things happening around me that I thought were interesting, even unrelated to Day of the Dead. The film ended up being a collection of moments in the spaces in between the big spectacle. Like meeting a family setting up to sell flowers or running through the city with a group catrinas performing the Macarena.”
Mark explains more about the song: “‘Fence’ was the idea of breaking free from something, written quite some time ago when I was off in the forest with Cadence Weapon and Laura Barrett for a Discovery Channel documentary series. We were asked to cover ‘Don’t Fence Me In’, but I thought that would be a bit cheesy to do it straight up. So I wrote this version of it, and for the record we recorded it in a way in which I made no double-check of the actual lyrics from Robert Foster’s original poem. So it’s kind of a suggestion of a cover, using something that’s ingrained in everyone’s musical DNA…”
For T R O U B L E, Woodpigeon emerged from a brief hiatus to create new music that blends the best of John Grant with Avalon era Roxy Music, Fleetwood Mac’s Tango in the Night, with a nod towards Kanye West’s Yeezus. The sounds are transposed to a mainly folk setting, feeding off influences from his travels across the globe when he visited the South of France, Paris, New York City, Turkey, Argentina and crossed Canada from one end to the other following a messy break-up.

This is a record about rhythm and sex and sadness. Previous Woodpigeon LPs have been epic affairs about falling in love with the interplay between choirs and symphonies, guitars and voices. This one narrows things down to the finest point, because so often less is so much more. As Hamilton points out: “It’s the loudest thing I’ve ever made.”

The songs were so different from anything that he had done before that Hamilton even toyed with changing the name to create a new beginning, a fresh start. Despite being under the same Woodpigeon moniker, T R O U B L E is a huge step forward and the finest album of a storied career. Even the album name has multiple meanings. As he explains; “Trouble can refer to bad shit coming or getting naked with someone… Either way, really.” Ready to get in to trouble?

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.