TYCHO announces UK/ European tour dates! New album ‘Epoch’ set for physical release Jan 20th via Ghostly International! 

October 20, 2016




“Throughout his career, [Scott] Hansen has stayed true to an ethereal and surreal aesthetic that yields beautifully anthemic productions” – Mixmag
“The downtempo zen [“Epoch”] is as compelling as it is mellow.” – Billboard
“The Ghostly aligned producer – real name Scott Hansen – makes wonderful use of colour and texture” – Clash
“Sonically thrilling” – The 405

With their new album ‘Epoch’ due physically Jan 20th via Ghostly International, Tycho has announced a run of European tour dates, including a London show on February 28th at Electric Brixton. This will be the band’s first tour in Europe since 2014 and first ever live performances in Scandinavia.

After dropping online last month, Epoch is the final album in the trilogy beginning with 2011’s Dive, then 2014’s Awakeand culminating with this year’s Epoch (Ghostly International). This period between Dive and Epoch marks a significant maturation for Scott Hansen’s continually expanding project, one that has taken him from a solo performer to fronting a live 4-piece band on large stages across the world.

Epoch hones the sonic aesthetic of Dive while drawing on the kinetic energy of Awake, it explores darker themes and new musical territory.

When discussing the surprise element of this release Hansen said, “I’ve never been fond of handing in an album then waiting 4 months for it to be released. I wanted to be more connected to the people consuming the music. There is a kind of visceral fulfillment you get from sharing something that you’ve just created with other people. That’s a very satisfying feeling as an artist” Hansen continues, “All art is in some way shaped by the current state of the world around the person creating it so there’s a element of zeitgeist built into any album. We just finished mastering the album so it will be a month old when people hear it. I’m hoping people get a sense that this music is directly connected to the time they are experiencing it in.”

Epoch was produced and recorded by Hansen predominantly in his home studio in Berkeley, CA. The album was arranged alongside long time collaborator and partner in the project, Zac Brown. Brown contributed bass and guitar parts to the songwriting process. Rory O’Connor performed drums on the album.

Hansen sees Epoch as a multi-dimensional artistic vision at the confluence of his graphic design work via ISO50 and music with Tycho. The graphic presentation of album artwork is as important as the music itself. The keystone is the central image of Epoch and the colors scheme red and black. This is a stark contrast to the almost rainbow palette of Awake. Album art is above and full track listing below.

See Tycho live:

10 02 17 – Berlin, Germany – Heimathafen
12 02 17 – Vienna, Austria – Flex
14 02 17 – Budapest, Hungary – Akvarium NagyHall
15 02 17 – Prague, Czech Republic – MEETFACTORY
16 02 17 – Warsaw, Poland – Worldwide Festival @ Niebo
18 02 17 – Copenhagen, Denmark – Pumpehuset
19 02 17 – Stockholm, Sweden – Kagelbanan
20 02 17 – Oslo – Norway – Parkteatret
22 02 17 – Cologne, Germany – Gloria Theatre
23 02 17 – Amsterdam, Netherlands – Melkweg
24 02 17 – Paris, France – Gaite Lyrique
25 02 17 – Brussels, Belgium – Botanique Orangerie
28 02 17 – London, United Kingdom – Electric Brixton

Tickets will be on sale this Friday (Oct 21st).

Tour flyer:

Download/Stream Epoch
Purchase Epoch at ISO5O:
Purchase Epoch at The Ghostly Store:


Tycho Official Site
Ghostly Intl Artist Page

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.