PAVO PAVO announce Iceland Airwaves + UK tour dates & Share video for “A Quiet Time With Spaceman Sputz”

October 23, 2016


PAVO PAVO announce Iceland Airwaves + UK tour dates & Share video for “A Quiet Time With Spaceman Sputz”

With less than a month away from the release of their debut album Young Narrator In The Breakers, PAVO PAVO are pleased to announce that they will be performing at this years Iceland Airwaves, as well as embarking on their first UK tour this November, which will include 3 dates in London. See below for full details:
Friday 4th November – REYKJAVIK – Iceland Airwaves
Saturday 5th November – LONDON – Moth Club (Rough Trade Anniversary)
Tuesday 8th November – LONDON – The Social (Huw Stephens Presents)

Tuesday 15th November – LONDON – The Lexington (PIAS Nites)

Thursday 17th November – MANCHESTER – The Ruby
Friday 18th November – LONDON – Oslo Hackney
In addition to the above dates announced, the band have unveiled the tranquil beauty of the album’s instrumental track “A Quiet Time With Spaceman Sputz”, along with an accompanying videoOf the video the band have said…
“Spaceman Sputz is kind of a musical character, or an atmosphere, that exists a lot on this record — this piece is his world. It started as a series of improvisations and was composed collaboratively based off of those — in the end, we made the recording in just one live take. This beautiful video was made by our dear friend and documentary/experimental filmmaker EB Landesberg while she was living in Lima, Peru. It captures the nostalgia, abandonment, and wistfulness of the song, adding to it these very vivid and tactile sensations of heat, dryness, sunlight, wind.” 

Pavo Pavo is an experimental pop band from Brooklyn, NY. The band started writing together while studying music at Yale, and since then its members have worked closely with indie and classical heavywights such as Here We Go Magic, John Zorn, Dave Longstreth, Porches, Olga Bell, Lucius, Roomful of Teeth, and San Fermin. Hailed by Stereogum as “weightless pop music that sounds like it was beamed down from a glimmering utopian future”, Pavo Pavo is a mind meld of five songwriters with a shared vision for creating new, expressive worlds of sound while using meticulous ears to evoke the feeling of bygone eras.
Pavo Pavo is Eliza Bagg on violin, synthesizers, and voice, Oliver Hill on guitars, synthesizers, and voice, Nolan Green on guitars and voice, Austin Vaughn on drums, and Ian Romer on bass. The group borrows its name from the southern constellation, Pavo, Latin for peacock – an elegant and spectacular link of cosmic dust.
Co-produced by Danny Molad (Lucius) and Sam Cohen (Yellowbirds, Apollo Sunshine), Pavo Pavo’s music moves with symphonic elegance. Guitar stabs, washed out harmonies, and rumbling synthesizers come and go like the tides of the ocean. The music on Young Narrator in the Breakers describes the magic and panic of adult life; a breaker is that wave whose potential energy is being transformed into turbulent kinetic energy.

Young Narrator in the Breakers tracklisting:

1. Ran Ran Ran 

2. Annie Hall

3. Ruby (Let’s Buy The Bike)

4. Wiserway

5. A Quiet Time With Spaceman Sputz

6. Somewhere in Iowa

7. Belle Of The Ball

8. The Aquarium

9. No Mind

10. John (A Little Time)

11. Young Narrator In The Breakers

12. 2020, We’ll Have Nothing Going On

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.