News

Stream Ultimate Painting’s forthcoming album ‘Dusk’ now in full – album out on 30/09/16

September 28, 2016

65034f92-7874-49b3-adc9-0ce55b56433d

Ultimate Painting logo

STREAM ULTIMATE PAINTING’S NEW ALBUM, DUSK IN FULL HERE

ALBUM OUT SEPTEMBER 30TH 2016 ON TROUBLE IN MIND

UK TOUR STARTS THIS WEEK WITH A LONDON SHOW AT ISLINGTON ASSEMBLY HALL ON 6TH OCTOBER

NEW INSTORE PERFORMANCES ANNOUNCED

Coming off a performance this past weekend at Liverpool Psych Fest, Ultimate Painting are streaming their new album, Dusk, via Noisey ahead of its September 30th release on Trouble In Mind. Listen to the album via Noisey HERE. Listen and embed the album from Soundcloud HERE.

Ultimate Painting are lucky enough to be comprised of two singular voices in Jack Cooper and James Hoare, who met when on tour together with their other bandsMazes and Veronica Falls. The pair’s distinctive songwriting styles began to blur with their last album, Green Lanes, but on Dusk it’s hard to tell where Cooper ends and Hoare begins. Their tunes weave in and out of each other like the duo’s respective six-strings, spiraling around each other in a laconic dance.

Despite the evident influence of American guitar pop both past and present, the group has recorded an album that feels decidedly English. Cooper’s abstract poeticism balances perfectly alongside Hoare’s alluring and universal pop leanings. The group has discovered a simple lushness in Dusk’s arrangements, sometimes only with subtle additions like a recently acquired Wurlitzer piano. Dusk feels different and cements the group’s presence in the modern world of guitar pop, finding voice in the allure of quietude.

Ultimate Painting kick off their UK tour in support of Dusk this week and will headlineThe Islington Assembly Hall in London on 6th October. The band will also be performing a handful of instores around the UK including at FOPP in Covent Garden, London this Thursday 29th September at 5.30pm. A full list of dates is below, with more instore appearances TBA.

                                                 WATCH & LISTEN:
“Song For Brian Jones” – https://youtu.be/5oopzYgvydg
“Bills” – https://soundcloud.com/troubleinmind/ultimate-painting-bills-trouble-in-mind-records-2

ULTIMATE PAINTING TOUR DATES:
Thurs. Sept. 29 – London, UK –  5.30pm instore at FOPP Covent Garden
Fri. Sept. 30 – Manchester, UK @ The Deaf Institute %
Sat. Oct. 1 – Leeds, UK – 2pm instore at Jumbo Leeds
Sat. Oct. 1 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club %
Sun. Oct. 2 – Glasgow, UK @ Stereo %
Mon. Oct. 3 – Glasgow, UK – 5.30pm instore at FOPP
Tue. Oct. 4 – Birmingham, UK @ Hare V2 %
Wed. Oct. 5 – Bristol, UK @ Exchange %
Thu. Oct. 6 – London, UK @ Islington Assembly Halls %$
Mon. Oct. 10 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso ^
Tue. Oct. 11 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique
Wed. Oct. 12 – Paris, FR @ Le Pop Up du Label
Thu. Oct. 13 – Cologne, DE @ King Georg
Fri. Oct. 14 – Hamburg, DE @ Aalhaus
Sat. Oct. 15 – Berlin, DE @ Berghain Kantine
Sat. Nov. 26 – Nashville, TN @ High Watt *
Sun. Nov. 27 – New Orleans, LA @ Saturn Bar *
Mon. Nov. 28 – Austin, TX @ Barracuda *
Tue. Nov. 29 – Dallas TX @ Double Wide Bar *
Wed. Nov. 30 – Memphis, TN @ Bar DKDC *
Thu. Dec. 1 – Columbia, MO @ Café Berlin *
Fri. Dec. 2 – Chicago, IL @ The Hideout *
Sat. Dec. 3 – Detroit, MI @ El Club *
Sun. Dec. 4 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern *
Mon. Dec. 5 – Montreal, QC @ Casa del Popolo *
Tue. Dec. 6 – Cambridge, MA @ Middle East Upstairs *
Wed. Dec. 7 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom *

% w/ Leif Erikson
$ w/ JC Flowers
^ w/ Ulrika Spacek
* w/ EZTV

Dusk(TIM117) will be available on LP, CD & Digital, and also on limited edition purple vinyl. Pre-order the album [hyperurl.co/UltimatePaintingDusk]HERE. The full tracklisting is as follows:

1. Bills
2. Song for Brian Jones
3. A Portrait Of Jason
4. Lead The Way
5. Monday Morning, Somewhere Central
6. Who Is Your Next Target?
7. Skippool Creek
8. I’m Set Free
9. Silhouetted Shimmering
10. I Can’t Run Anymore

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.