October Drift stream new track ‘Cherry Red’ | UK tour begins October 1st

September 25, 2016


Stream ‘Cherry Red’ on SoundCloud
This Is Nowhere EP due for release on October 7th via Bad Rival Records

UK tour begins October 1st at Southsea Fest | |

October Drift have revealed ‘Cherry Red’, an explosive, melancholic new track from their forthcoming This Is Nowhere EP, due October 7th via Bad Revival Records.

Overflowing with infectious melodies, and backed by an unshakeable orchestration of feedback and fuzz, October Drift rocket to their atmospheric best as ‘Cherry Red’s chorus erupts. Speaking of the track’s muse, frontman Kiran Roy explains, “It’s about knowing where you want to get to and trying to find the path there, even if that means other roads get closed off.”

Stream ‘Cherry Red’ –

The This Is Nowhere EP see’s the Somerset-based quartet displaying a cleaner, leaner take on their visceral post-rock whilst remaining massively atmospheric. Inspired by the single-mindedness that can come from working towards one goal, subconsciously neglecting all other aspects of life, Kiran further explains the EP’s ideals. “As individuals we’re all really driven, but it can sometimes lead to losing sight of our personal lives. I think being in a band can be a pretty single-minded experience, switching off and focusing on other things is something that we all find hard. Weve missed countless family events and in some cases ruined relationships because of it.”Lead track ‘Cinnamon Girl’ arrives almost drowsy, drifting from thought to thought, inspired by a half asleep state as the needle skipped on the eponymous Neil Young track. Where Get With The Times’ and ‘Snow Into Dust’ introduce ideas of letting go of all emotions and attachments in life and sacrificing them to achieve a goal – “there’s something to lose, when there’s something around.”

After a string of acclaimed singles, bizarre music videos and sold-out gigs up and down the UK, relentlessly touring the country, October Drift’s fan base is growing far and wide, precisely because of their emotional, sonic hybridism. Following appearances at BBC6 Music Festival, Dot to Dot, Tramlines and Camden Rocks Festivals, October Drift will begin the This Is Nowhere tour on October 1st at Southsea Fest, detailed on the dates below.

Pre-order the This Is Nowhere EP here –

Tour Dates (tickets available here –

1 Portsmouth, Southsea Fest
8 Middlesborough, Twisterella
9 Matlock, Twenty Ten
10 Birmingham, Sunflower Lounge
11 London, Shacklewell Arms
13 Exeter, Exeter Cavern
14 Oxford, What Became Of Us
15 Leicester, What Became Of Us
16 Bedford, Esquires
18 Liverpool, East Village Arts Club
19 Glasgow, Nice ‘N’ Sleazy
20 Leeds, Brudenell Social Club
21 Scunthorpe, The Lincoln Imp
22 Sheffield, Plug

EP track listing

  1. Snow Into Dust / Cherry Red
  2. Cinnamon Girl
  3. Get With The Times

October Drift are: Kiran Roy (vocals, guitar), Chris Holmes (drums), Alex Bispham (bass) & Daniel Young (guitar).

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.