Jon Hopkins shares new video for ‘Cold Out There’ premiering now via The Quietus

September 10, 2016
 Steve Gullick

Steve Gullick


Shares new video for ‘Cold Out There’ premiering via The Quietus now – watch it here

Taken from the debut album Opalescent which is remastered and reissued for the first time on vinyl for its 15 year anniversary this month via Just Music

Jon Hopkins shares a brand new video for the track ‘Cold Out There’ taken from his remastered and reissued debut album, Opalescent, available this month via Just Music.  The director Dan Tombs who made the video with the assistance of Marcus Williams said the following:

“I took a camera-equipped drone out to a remote and deserted part of the Norfolk coast and let it gracefully ascend to several hundred meters. The aim was for the landscape to evoke an otherworldly nature – both familiar and uncertain. The melody coincides with flashes of colour that offer a glimpse of imaginary celestial bodies moving through time and space.”

Opalescent, the debut album from the Mercury Music Prize and Ivor Novello award-nominated artist Jon Hopkins, has been remastered and reissued for its 15 year anniversary and is available now via Just Music. Sought after among Jon’s hardcore fans, who have repeatedly demanded a remastered vinyl version, the seminal album is finally be available as a special edition gatefold LP with brand new liner notes.

Back in 2001, the process of creating Opalescent was a joyful one. At the age of 20, Jon had just signed to ambient label Just Music who bought him a PC, and with a hotchpotch of software and some basic equipment, he set to work. His only assistance came from his friend and regular collaborator Leo Abrahams, who plays Opalescent’s sparkling, plangent guitars.

It was a record which, in numerous, enthusiastic reviews, was filed in the then burgeoning “chill-out” genre. But Jon had no interest in making relaxing or therapeutic music, which may help explain why Opalescent still sounds so distinctive, musically and emotionally complex. It was never meant to be enjoyed passively. It is in the contradictions between beauty and bass, gentleness and volume, ecstasy and elegy, that Opalescent derives its enduring otherness. Even 15 years on, it is never quite what you think it is.

For all Hopkins enjoyed making Opalescent, this was an uncertain period in his life. He was a shy and reclusive musician adrift in London and, like any artist, prey to doubts and apprehension. At its most radiant and awe-inspiring (“Lost In Thought”, “Halcyon”),Opalescent is tinged with something wistful, even mournful. The chilly and hollow, piano-led “Apparition” or the lost-in-deep-space ambience of stand-out track, “Cold Out There” contain a kind of universal longing, an ache for love or transcendence, that you can hear in instrumental music as diverse as Tangerine Dream and jazz pianist Bill Evans’s solo pieces.

But while Opalescent was a series of tentative steps, it is also already recognisably the work of Jon Hopkins. In the hypnotic minimalism of “Private Universe” (a precursor to “Light Through The Veins” on Insides), or the dense gloaming of the title track, elements of the drum ‘n’ bass, classical and soundtrack influences that have come to define Jon’s work were clearly asserting themselves. In its passages of drone music, its use of repetition, its cinematic scale, its stark piano lines, the album is an audible antecedent of the very different Immunity – Jon’s acclaimed, recent breakthrough album.

Hopkins currently has an audience waiting in anticipation for his fifth album, a work that he is determined to take as far out-there as he can – and Opalescent is the perfect primer.

Opalescent (already available on CD & Digital) is available to pre-order on vinyl viaAmazon UK, Amazon US and also via the Just Music Store.

The full tracklisting is as follows:

1) Elegiac
2) Private Universe
3) Halcyon
4) Opalescent
5) Lost in Thought
6) Fading Glow
7) Apparition
8) Inner Peace
9) Cerulean
10) Grace
11) Cold Out There
12) Afterlife

Opalescent album artwork

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.