Goat unveil new single “Union of Mind and Soul”!

September 16, 2016

Andreas Johansson

GOAT premieres new single,
“Union of Mind and Soul”
 out 7th October on Rocket Recordings


“A freaked-up folk voyage to the outer reaches of their magical minds.  Absolutely brilliant stuff.” [“Try My Robe”] – NME

“The track is a characteristic of the clan – wild, full of colour, and a celebration.” – [“Try My Robe”] – DIY 

“these fresh GOAT-y sounds are tantalising meshes of brilliance and surreality.” – [“Try My Robe”] – The Line of Best Fit

“The band is all about fusion, snagging sounds from all over the world to create a knotty blend of Western psychedelia and Eastern instrumentation.” – [“Try My Robe”]Consequence of Sound

“…Frantic percussive combination of acid-spiked psych-rock, groove-centric Afrobeat, dazed metal, euphoric disco, and unearthly funk.” – Stereogum

“Union of Mind and Soul” is the second single to be released from GOAT’s forthcoming third album Requiem – following the June release of the single “I Sing in Silence”. “Union of Mind and Soul” sees GOAT continue the catchy but stripped down, unplugged approach that was heard on “I Sing in Silence”. At the core of “Union of Mind and Soul” is a driving acoustic guitar and a ridiculously catchy recorder riff that will have you humming for hours well after the track is over.

Today DIY premiered “Union of Mind and Soul”

Three quarters of the way through, the song is punctuated with a propulsive fuzz guitar solo in true GOAT fashion. The end result of “Union of Mind and Soul” is something like what Black Sabbath would of sounded like if they came from the Wickers Man’s Summerisle.

“Union of Mind and Soul” doesn’t actually feature on the new album Requiem – this is in an alternative version to the track “Union of Sun and Moon” which the album opens with. The main difference between the tracks is the vocal approach as “Union of Mind and Soul” sees the energetic vocalists singing the lyrics in a vivacious manner, where the album’s version “Union of Sun and Moon” has the lyrics spoken in a slightly more direct and slightly eerie way.

This reworking of the album track is available through all digital services from Friday 16th September and is included in the digital download that comes with the vinyl LP of
Requiem.   iTunes Link

“Union of Mind and Soul” artwork
Requiem finds Swedish psych explorers Goat focusing more on their subdued, bucolic ritualism than psilocybin freakouts. A pronounced folk-rock influence pervades the album, with stand-out tracks “Alarms,” “Try My Robe,” and “Union of Sun and Moon.”  But Goat hasn’t foregone their fiery charms – tracks like “All-Seeing Eye” and “Goatfuzz” conjure the sultry pulsations that ensnared us on 2012’s World Music and 2014’s Commune.Requiem is released on 7 October 2016 on Rocket Recordings and the band are celebrating it’s release with a tour of Europe, see below for tour dates:

Autumn tour dates (Supported by Josefin Öhrn + The Liberation):
07 Oct / Malmö, SE – Babel.  Ticket link
08 Oct  / Copenhagen, DK – Den grå hal  Ticket link
10 Oct / Cologne, DE – Stadtgarten.  Ticket link
11 Oct / Munich, DE  – Ampere. Ticket link
12 Oct / Berlin, DE – Berghain.  Ticket link
13 Oct / Heidelberg, DE – Karlstorbahnhof Enjoy Jazz.  Ticket link
14 Oct / Paris, FR – Cabaret Sauvage Ticket link
16 Oct / Desertfest / Antwerp / Belgium
17 Oct / All Saints Church / Brighton / UK.  Ticket link
18 Oct / Coronet / London / UK.  Ticket link
19 Oct / SWX / Bristol / UK.  Ticket link
20 Oct / Riverside / Newcastle / UK.  Ticket link

21 Oct / 02 ABC / Glasgow / UK.  Ticket link
22 Oct / Albert Hall / Manchester / UK (w/ Hookworms, Jane Weaver, Mugstar). Ticket link

11-12 Nov / Oslo Psych Fest / Norway

You can pre-order Requiem HERE
iTunes Link

GOAT recently released tracks, “I Sing In Silence” , “Try My Robe” and “Alarms”

Requiem tracklisting:
01 Djôrôlen / Union Of Sun And Moon
02 I Sing In Silence
03 Temple Rhythms
04 Alarms
05 Trouble In The Streets
06 Psychedelic Lover
07 Goatband
08 Try My Robe
09 It’s Not Me
10 All Seeing Eye
11 Goatfuzz
12 Goodbye
13 Ubuntu

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.