Wrekmeister Harmonies reveal their most emotionally gripping track to date – “Some Were Saved Some Drowned” streaming now

August 21, 2016


Wrekmeister Harmonies reveal their most emotionally gripping track to date – Some Were Saved Some Drowned” streaming now!  

New album Light Falls out Sept. 16th, recorded with a new band, three members of Godspeed You! Black Emperor

Wrekmeister Harmonies to play select shows in new 5-piece edition, European dates planned


Light Falls is impressively cohesive, making the journey from its soothing intro to the harrowing, tumultuous riffs and anguished, tortured vocals of ‘Some Were Saved, Some Were Drowned’ with a very clear, concise narrative structure.” – The Quietus 

“Intensely personal brand of shattered tonality.” The Wire

“It’s meant to be haunting and troubling, and it is… but Robinson’s deeply ingrained sense of beauty lends it a cold and terrible dignity.” Chicago Reader

As they prepare for the release of their new 7-song magnum opus – Light Falls, due out 16th September from Thrill Jockey Records – the incredibly prolific Wrekmeister Harmonies have premiered the album’s first single! Listen to “Some Were Saved Some Drowned” below

Light Falls is the group’s fifth release and follows 2015’s critically-acclaimed LP, Night Of Your Ascension. That record featured no less than 30 musicians in the musical collective. On Light Falls, Wrekmeister Harmonies’ visionary JR Robinson felt it was time to seek out new creative strategies, focusing his energy on a smaller collective. Light Falls features Wrekmeister Harmonies’ core members JR Robinson (vocals, guitar) and Esther Shaw (keyboards, piano, violin, vocals) joined by by Godspeed You! Black Emperor musicians Thierry Amar on bass and contrabass; Sophie Trudeau on piano, violin and vocals; and Timothy Herzog on drums. Chicago musicians Ryley Walker and Cooper Crain (Cave, Bitchin Bajas) make guest appearances on the album as well. The resulting output with the new lineup continues to transcend classification and expand their sonic palette on what is Wrekmeister Harmonies’ most focused, compelling and powerful release to date. Watch the album’s teaser video HERE

Earlier this year Wrekmeister Harmonies embanked on an extensive European headline tour, as well as supporting Marissa Nadler on selective dates. They have now announced a handful of US shows with their new touring lineup that features JR Robinson and Esther Shaw, joined by Amar, Trudeau and Herzog (Godspeed You! Black Emperor) – see the full list of shows HERE. A European tour with the new lineup is scheduled for November and December this year, more details very soon!

Light Falls will be released on 16th September. The album artwork was designed by legendary outsider artist Nick Blinko (Rudimentary Peni).

Light Falls album cover

Wrekmeister Harmonies – “Light Falls”
Out 16th September via Thrill Jockey

Available on LP / CD / DL


1. Light Falls I – The Mantra
2. Light Falls II – The Light Burns Us All
3. Light Falls III – Light Sick
4. The Gathering
5. Where Have You Been My Lovely Son?
6. Some Were Saved Some Drowned
7. My Lovely Son Reprise

Wrekmeister Harmonies on Thrill Jockey:

Some Were Saved Some Drowned (Official Audio):

Light Falls (Official Album Trailer):

Wrekmeister Harmonies on:
Official WebsiteFacebook / Twitter / Instagram

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.