NOTS share ‘Inherently Low’, taken from new album, Cosmetic due 9th September via Heavenly Recordings

July 30, 2016
 Don Perry

Don Perry


Share new song, ‘Inherently Low’

Taken from Cosmetic due 9th September on Heavenly Recordings


Cosmetic fearlessly attacks the rough edges between desire, deceit, appearance and reality. The inevitable immersion in the constant news about the U.S. election was a huge influence for lyricist Natalie Hoffmann. NOTS‘ strenuous tour schedule and long drives pushed her to continuously write down reactions to life – good, bad and evil – along with the constant and “incredibly horrifying” flow of hate mongering and violence taking place.

Inherently Low” was difficult for her to write about, Hoffmann explains, “it deals very much with depression and loss. The chorus describes a feeling of being trapped in your current state of mind, so much so that it begins to feed upon itself and falsely make you believe that you always were and always will be that way. I believe that in many ways this feeling is created and perpetrated by a society that is set up to purposefully keep many people low  – undereducated, unable to be healthy, and just generally depressed at the current state of affairs in the world – in order to benefit a select group who hold the strings, and who will do anything to keep control.”

NOTS have arrived at the next level of their attack with a confidence and a music that lays waste to the wasteland without romantic attachment to a thing. Still a wild guitar band, but above and below the guitar, bass and drum pound, Alexandra Eastburn’s analog synth blurps melodies and nonsense, teasing squiggles of freedom which defy the false grid of modern life. Cosmetic? Emetic? “Monotone Lust” indeed. With Hoffmann on guitar and vocals, Eastburn on synth, Charlotte Watson beating drums, and Meredith Lones steering a solid path through the chaos on bass, NOTS are neither content with the smug “stare at your shoes” approach of bands from both coasts, nor an Earth-hugging “we need to get back to nature” hippie copout.

Signed to legendary Memphis rock ‘n’ roll label Goner in the U.S. Cosmetic follows the U.K. release of We Are Nots, their debut album, on Heavenly in November of last year. Recorded with Keith Cooper and Andrew McCalla in the band’s home-town of Memphis, Cosmetic also features artwork by Hoffman.

Having played a short run of UK dates earlier this year, including a sold-out show at London’s Lexington and a brace of acclaimed performances at the Great Escape, the band are set to bring their ferociously urgent live show back to the UK later this year.
Cosmetic Tracklisting:

1. Blank Reflection
2. Rat King
3. Cold Line
4. New Structures
5. Cosmetic
6. No Novelty
7. Inherently Low
8. Flourescent Sunset
9. Entertain Me



You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.