Feature, News

Empty Houses share new single “Rope” from forthcoming album on Sargent House!

June 7, 2016
Photo credit: Rina Movsisyan

Photo credit: Rina Movsisyan


 Listen to the new track “Rope”
from Detroit’s Empty Houses
Debut album out 1st July on Sargent House


Empty Houses have just premiered their latest single, “Rope” on Exclaim who wrote, “The track is a reverb-washed blues romp, featuring rollicking guitars and pounding drums. Singer Ali Shea is particularly striking, proclaiming her devotion to a troubled relationship with her fiery lead vocals. These elements combine to recall five decades of Detroit music, drawing influence from the sweetly soulful sounds of Motown to the explosive blues of Jack White’s projects.”

Empty Houses debut album Daydream is out 1st July in the UK on Sargent House.
Daydream was produced by four-time Grammy Award winner Graham Marsh (Bruno Mars,CeeLo Green, Common) and Empty Houses at Parhelion Studios in Atlanta, GA. The album marks the first full-length release from Ali Shea (vocals), and David Mackinder(guitar), and Adam Mercer (keys).

Empty Houses formed in 2014 when vocalist Ali Shea began writing songs with Adam Mercer and David Mackinder (both of Detroit band, Fireworks), quickly discovering a truly potent chemistry between themselves. United by a love for their regional forebears at Motown, the trio set out to create a timeless breed of feel-good music that pays homage to the past while incorporating modern production savvy. Harnessing the spirit and energy of a bygone era with deft musicianship and Shea’s rich, soulful vocals, they emerged with something wholly unique in contemporary pop.

Awash in piano and horns, harmonizing vocals and traditional song structures untainted by passing fads and studio trickery, Daydream avoids easy categorization, its familiarity and its freshness in remarkable contrast. It’s heart-on-your-sleeves rock n’ roll without pretense or irony, a touchstone signifying a new appreciation for a classic sound. Empty Houses make timeless, joyful music that’s destined to cross boundaries of age and culture.

The band have already shared “Falling Away” and “Daydream” from their debut record.


1. Better Of Me
2. Daydream
3. Lost At Sea
4. All I Had
5. Mercy
6. Hold Your Hand
7. Falling Away
8. Rope
9. Every Word
10. Thunderstorms

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.