Russian Circles premiere first single “Vorel” from forthcoming album

May 24, 2016
Nicholas Sayers

Nicholas Sayers


Russian Circles premiere first single “Vorel”
from forthcoming album-
Guidance out 5th August on Sargent House


Celebrated Chicago post-metal/rock trio Russian Circles have unveiled the first single off of their highly-anticipated sixth studio album, Guidance, due out August 5th from Sargent House .  Titled “Vorel”, this new song offers great insight to the dynamics found onGuidance – listen now on
Listen and share “Vorel” HERE

While every Russian Circles album has had its share of new sonic vistas, Guidance finds the band still searching out new sounds while continuing to play to the collective strengths of guitarist Mike Sullivan, drummer Dave Turncrantz, and bassist Brian Cook.  With the help of engineer/co-producer Kurt Ballou, Russian Circles were able to capture a broad tonal palette and wide array of emotional motifs into a cohesive journey through the tumultuous corners of human existence.  On Guidance, Russian Circles carry on in their quest to conjure multi-dimensional dramatic instrumental narratives and scout out new textures from their respective instruments. The songs aren’t constructed out of highbrow concepts; they’re forged out of gut instinct and base emotional response. Nor was the band interested in testing their fans’ patience or securing a new broader audience with a radical reinvention. Instead, Russian Circles use Guidance to continue examining the polarity of quiet and loud, complexity and simplicity, ugliness and beauty.
We often expect artists to fall into patterns and formulas, but for Russian Circles the creative method is still a mystery. Songs develop at their own pace. Inspiration comes from strange sources. If anything, the process of writing is every bit the enigma it was back when the band crafted their first song in 2004. Life itself is a struggle with the unknown and a search for meaning, and the creative process for Russian Circles has mirrored that pursuit. From the radical dynamic shifts and straightforward production of the band’s debut album Enter, to the lockstep metallic attack and pensive comedowns of Station, the symphonic grandeur of Geneva, the grit and grime of Empros, and the oscillation between melancholy and wrath on Memorial, these were all incremental steps towards an ideal, and Guidance brings the band that much closer to that realization.
Guidance is available for pre-order now on CD, LP and digital formats here.

Guidance, Track Listing:
1.  Asa
2.  Vorel
3.  Mota
4.  Afrika
5.  Overboard
6.  Calla
7.  Lisboa

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.