Circuit Sweet Introducing

Introducing… yllwshrk!

May 29, 2016


Introducing… yllwshrk!

For fans of… Radiohead, Jeff Buckley, Grizzly Bear
After appearing as a violist on a number of tracks on Radiohead’s new album A Moon Shaped Pool, classically trained composer Ian Anderson, along with bassist Dave Brown (who performed double bass on A Moon Shaped Pool), have released their debut EP under the name yllwshrk (Yellow Shark) due for releaseJuly 22nd 2016 via IMOGEN Records.

To celebrate the announcement the band have shared their homagé to Jeff Buckley, Pull Me Under (In Memory of Jeff Buckley) which is available to download for free via the ABoF Soundcloud page.


Anderson (rhythm guitar) wanted to tap into his impressive musical knowledge by utilising complex ideas taken from classical compositions, relating to form and harmony, with the aim of implementing them within the context of an alt-rock song structure. Reaching out to Brown, whom he met while touring with Jonny Greenwood and the London Contemporary Orchestra, as well as a number of other musician friends, yllwshrk made their live debut at a London gig in January of this year with Sam West (vocals), Matt Isaac (lead guitar) and Feargus Brennan (drums) completing the line-up.

The band headed to Woodworm Studios in Banbury with the aim of recording their first tracks with producerGraeme Stewart (Radiohead, Ash, Zero 7), the session resulting in three exquisitely crafted songs contained on the EP. All three tracks bear the characteristics that Anderson originally set out to instil into the project with complex rhythms and harmonies scattered throughout, taking inspiration from his work with Radiohead, allied to the majestic, vast vocal stylings of West reminiscent of Jeff Buckley. West’s vocals come close to reaching the same range and emotional intensity as the renowned singer/songwriter with the band giving a clear nod to him on the ode ‘Pull Me Under (In Memory of Jeff Buckley)’.

The rest of the record consists of the tracks Northern Soul, showcasing gorgeous intricate guitar work which is blended beautifully with technically impressive drumming, and ‘Into Her Sleep With Envy’, highlighting another incredible vocal performance by West and drawing comparisons with acts such as Grizzly Bear and Dirty Projectors.

yllwshrk’s self-titled debut EP is out July 22nd 2016 via IMOGEN Records.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.