BRONCHO release new single ‘Speed Demon’

May 12, 2016


Release new single ‘Speed Demon’

New album Double Vanity due June 17th via Dine Alone Records | | @BRONCHOBAND


Oklahoman garage-rock force, BRONCHO, have released ‘Speed Demon’, a frenetic two-minute thrill ride that perfectly precedes their new album Double Vanity, due June 17th via Dine Alone Records.

Strutting with an 80s-meets-50s swagger, ‘Speed Demon’ sees discord transformed into a jagged and intense breed of hazy pop music. “This is a song about going all the way, and then finding time to finish,” frontman Ryan Lindsey explains. “Finishing is the key to any race. It’s also about Satan,” he adds.

Double Vanity is an album that sees Lindsey and bandmates Ben King, Nathan Price and Penny Pitchlynn vigorously striding ahead, transforming the raw angst of their first record, Can’t Get Past the Lips, and their irresistible second LP, Just Enough Hip To Be Woman, into a sound decidedly more layered and complex. Tracks like ‘New Karma’ and ‘Two Step’ riff off the later explorations of punk, culling up refracted images of John Hughes prom nights, love songs echoing from a boombox held high. ‘Señora Borealis’ is all bad boy sneer – sensual, moody, with a sly and predatory swagger. Elsewhere ‘I Know You’ is simultaneously infectious and brooding, but somehow both exalting and heartsick.

Just Enough Hip To Be Woman saw fantastic success, with the infectious ‘Class Historian’ single spending over a month on the playlist at BBC 6Music. The record was dubbed “fresh and invigorating” by the NME, “unequivocally strong in their near mastery of sunny melodies and deft pop sensibilities” by Consequence Of Sound, and received further acclaim from The Independent, Noisey, Mojo and more. Their subsequent debut European tour saw sold-out shows across the capital.

BRONCHO are set to tour America through May and June with Cage The Elephant and will land in the UK for a full tour this autumn.

Pre-order Double Vanity on iTunes here and receive an instant download of previously released tracks ‘Señora Borealis’ and ‘Fantasy Boys’.

Double Vanity track listing & artwork

  1. All Time
  2. Fantasy Boys
  3. I Know You
  4. Jenny Loves Jenae
  5. Highly Unintentional
  6. Señora Borealis
  7. New Karma
  8. Speed Demon
  9. Soak Up The Sun
  10. Two Step
  11. Wanna

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.