PSYCHIC ILLS share psych-gospel number ‘Another Change’. New album ‘Inner Journey Out’ set for June 3 release on Sacred Bones

April 24, 2016
Kenny Jossick

Kenny Jossick




New York’s Psychic Ills follow their recent single ‘I Don’t Mind (ft Mazzy Star’s Hope Sandoval)’ with a second cut from their forthcoming new record Inner Journey Out, which is set for release on June 3rd via Sacred Bones.

New single ‘Another Change’ is a rousing psychedelic gospel number, showcasing another facet to the diverse terrain dextrously explored in Ill’s most personal & remarkable album to date.

Psychic Ills will be playing a Manchester show on June 14th as well as two nights at London’s The Lexington on June 15th & 16th, before heading out to play shows across Europe – details below.

The seekers in New York City’s Psychic Ills have spent more than a decade following their muse wherever it takes them. Inner Journey Out, the band’s highly anticipated fifth album and first since 2013, is the culmination of an odyssey of three years of writing, traversing the psych-rock landscape they’ve carved throughout their career and taking inspired pilgrimages into country, blues, gospel, and jazz.

Inner Journey Out started out the way many Ills records have – with frontman Tres Warren’s demos.  Like all of their records, Elizabeth Hart’s bass is the glue that holds everything together. Where other recent albums found Warren overdubbing himself to create a blown-out, widescreen sound, this recording handed the reigns to a multitude of guest players. A cadre of musicians and vocalists – including Mazzy Star’s Hope Sandoval, who duets on lead single “I Don’t Mind” – join in on the journey. This is also the first record to feature touring keyboard player Brent Cordero, his Farfisa and Wurlitzer work is a staple throughout.  Rounding things out, is a platoon of drummers and percussionist including; Chris Millstein,Harry Druzd of Endless Boogie, Derek James of The Entrance Band, and Charles Burst, one of the record’s engineers.  These musicians build the frame on which Warren lays his hazy guitar and vocals.  An endless array of friends and guests join the proceedings to provide pedal steel guitar, horns, strings, and backing vocals, which culminate in a career-defining moment for the Ills.

Thematically, Inner Journey Out is a detailed exploration of the interior and the exterior, and the pathway between the two. The focused songwriting makes the stylistic departures fit seamlessly within the band’s dexterous ethos. The rousing gospel psychedelia of “Another Change” and “Baby,” two of the records four songs to feature back up singers and the far-out free jazz exploration “Ra Wah Wah” help shape Inner Journey Out into a multi-faceted, full album experience.  Deeper set tracks like “Music In My Head” features guest vocals by Starred’s Liza Thorn and resonant fingerpicking by folk guitarist Mike Wexler. Synth drones of fellow time traveller Drew McDowall provides the bedrock of “Hazel Green.”  All expanse aside, it’s the most personal Psychic Ills album, too, hinting tantalizingly at love and loss but denying the listener resolution — asking questions, but never answering; seeking, but never fully concluding.

The friends and family collaborative effort extends beyond the sound and into the design of the record with fine artists and long time Psychic Ills collaborators Jonah Freeman and Justin Lowe creating all of the art for the record.

A decade on from releasing their critically lauded cult debut, Dins, and the deep dive into cosmic improvisation of Mirror Eye that followed, through the more recent and straightforward outings of Hazed Dream and One Track MindPsychic Ills have delivered their most remarkable statement yet with Inner Journey Out.

File next to other drop out symphonies like Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space by Spiritualized, Pacific Ocean Blue by Dennis Wilson, and Born to Be With You by Dion, and let your journey begin.

Psychic Ills tour dates:
14 – Manchester, UK – Ruby Lounge
15 – London, UK – Lexington
16 – London, UK – Lexington

17 – Brussels, Belgium – Beursschouwburg
18 – Paris, FR – International Psych Festival
19 – Hilvarenbeek, Netherlands – Best Kept Secret Festival
21 – Zurich, Switzerland – Club Zukunft
22 – Tel Aviv, Israel – Bascula
23 – Milan, Italy – Sacrestia
24 – Pescara, Italy – IndieRocket Festival
25 – Ravenna, Italy – Hana Bi

Inner Journey Out track list:
1. Back to You
2. Another Change
3. I Don’t Mind (feat. Hope Sandoval)
4. Mixed Up Mind
5. All Alone
6. New Mantra
7. Coca-Cola Blues
8. Baby
9. Music in My Head
10. No Worry
11. Hazel Green
12. Confusion (I’m Alright)
13. Ra Wah Wah
14. Fade Me Out

iTunes Pre-Order Link
Bandcamp Pre-Order Link
Official Site
Sacred Bones

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.